Various Artists – Woodstock (1970) {1986, MFSL, Remastered}

Various Artists - Woodstock (1970) {1986, MFSL, Remastered}

Various Artists – Woodstock (1970) {1986, MFSL, Remastered}
EAC Rip | 4xCD | WavPack (.wv) Image + Cue + Log | Scans Included
Total Size: 1.12 GB | 3% RAR Recovery
Label: MFSL | Japan | Cat#: MFCD 4-816 | Genre: Blues Rock, Folk, Hard Rock

It’s almost impossible to regard the soundtrack albums for the Michael Wadleigh documentary Woodstock, simply as music, apart from the event that inspired them or what that event has come to represent. Music from the Original Soundtrack and More: Woodstock was originally released by Atlantic’s Cotillion imprint as a three-LP set in a gatefold sleeve. It topped the Billboard Charts for four weeks and sold two million copies. It sold so well that Cotillion issued a sequel double album of more music from the festival that never appeared in the film. The LPs took the music out of the historical sequence of the festival and re-ordered (and edited) it for a sense of flow. Whether or not it accomplished its objective has been the subject of much debate and beyond this review’s scope. What is relevant is that these performances signified via their spotty recording quality — and sometimes dodgy performances — that there was an amazing array of legendary talent on hand at Woodstock; though not all of it is captured here. Rhino’s 2009 remastered edition of this set on a double CD is the cleanest edition yet, but even it has problems: the source tapes were problematic at best. It restores the original LP order, features new liners by Gene Sculatti, and has more photos in the booklet. Musically, the second disc sounds the least dated with its over the top performances by a shockingly great Santana with “Soul Sacrifice,” Ten Years After’s guitar workout on “I’m Goin’ Home,” Jimi Hendrix’s “Star Spangled Banner” medley (still a stunner after all these decades); the Jefferson Airplane’s rocking and raucous version of “Volunteers,” and the orgiastic Sly & the Family Stone medley that includes “Dance to the Music,” “Music Lover,” and an insanely great “I Want to Take You Higher.” There is some filler as well thanks to a drippy John Sebastian track called “Rainbows All Over Your Blues,” and an indulgent “Love March” by an out-of-their-prime Butterfield Blues Band.

Disc one is more complex. There are some fine moments here, especially the CS&N and CSN&Y tunes, including “Suite: Judy Blue Eyes” (perhaps not perfect in voice but a very inspired performance), and “Wooden Ships,” with a decent if not thrilling “Sea of Madness,” in between. There is a desultory “We’re Not Gonna Take It” from the Who that is out of context, given they performed the entirety of Tommy. While Canned Heat’s “Goin’ Up the Country” has aged well, Country Joe & the Fish’s “The “Fish” Cheer/I-Feel-Like-I’m-Fixin’-To-Die Rag” has not, nor has Joan Baez’s performance of “Drug Store Truck Drivin’ Man.” Her version of “Joe Hill” is generic. Richie Havens’ “Freedom” is still thrilling, especially since it is preceded by Sebastian opening the entire set up with another duller-than-dull “I Had a Dream.” The “Summer of Love” had been over for two years by the time Woodstock took place, and riots in Watts, Detroit, Newark, and other places had occurred, as well as an escalation in the Vietnam War. The most out of place thing here is Sha Na Na’s “At the Hop,” which sounds surreal but ragged and right, and Joe Cocker’s “With a Little Help from My Friends,” that closes disc one; it’s electrifying if rather out of tune. So as it stands, Woodstock is a wildly mixed bag, and not particularly pleasant to listen to, but it does indeed have a significant place in the rock pantheon and should be regarded more as an artifact than as an album in its own right. ― Allmusic

Additional Info:
• Original Released Date: July, 1970
• Released Date: 1986, MFSL
More info

Woodstock – CD 1
01. John Sebastian – I Had A Dream – 02:54
02. Canned Heat – Going Up The Country – 03:34
03. Stage Announcements – 02:17
04. Richie Havens – Freedom – 05:26
05. Country Joe & The Fish – Rock & Soul Music – 02:09
06. Arlo Guthrie – Coming Into Los Angeles – 02:45
07. Sha-Na-Na – At The Hop – 02:03
08. Country Joe Macdonald – I-Feel-Like-I’m-Fixin’-To-Die Rag – 03:55
09. Joan Baez – Truck Drivin’ Man – 02:46
10. Joan Baez – Joe Hill – 03:15
11. Stage Announcements – 02:03
12. Crosby, Stills & Nash – Suite: Judy Blue Eyes – 08:49
13. Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young – Sea Of Madness – 04:37
14. Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young – Wooden Ships – 05:57
15. The Who – We’re Not Gonna Take It – 05:05
16. Stage Announcements – 01:28
17. Joe Cocker – With A Little Help From My Friends – 08:31
18. Rainstorm Chants – 01:52

Woodstock – CD 2
01. Rain Chant – 02:47
02. Santana – Soul Sacrifice – 08:30
03. Stage Announcements – 02:28
04. Ten Years After – I’m Going Home – 09:49
05. Jefferson Airplane – Volunteers – 03:01
06. Max Yasgur – 00:43
07. Sly & The Family Stone – Dance To The Music – 02:23
08. Sly & The Family Stone – Music Lover – 07:12
09. Sly & The Family Stone – I Want To Take You Higher – 04:27
10. John B. Sebastian – Rainbows All Over Your Blues – 03:57
11. Butterfield Blues Band – Love March – 10:19
12. Jimi Hendrix – Star Spangled Banner, Purple Haze & Solo – 13:48

Woodstock Two – CD 1
01. Jimi Hendrix – Jam Back At The House – 06:56
02. Jimi Hendrix – Izabella – 05:36
03. Jimi Hendrix – Get My Heart Back Together – 08:22
04. Jefferson Airplane – Saturday Afternoon/Won’t You Try – 05:12
05. Jefferson Airplane – Eskimo Blue Day – 06:38
06. The Butterfield Blues Band – Everything’s Gonna Be Alright – 09:00

Woodstock Two – CD 2
01. Joan Baez – Sweet Sir Galahad – 03:57
02. Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young – Guinnevere – 05:20
03. Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young – 4 + 20 – 02:20
04. Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young – Marrakesh Express – 02:32
05. Melanie – My Beautiful People – 04:06
06. Melanie – Birthday Of The Sun – 03:37
07. Mountain – Blood Of The Sun – 03:33
08. Mountain – Theme For An Imaginary Western – 05:01
09. Canned Heat – Woodstock Boogie – 13:48
10. Auidence During Sunday Rainstorm – Let The Sunshine In – 00:58

EAC Logs
CUETools 2.1.5 Logs

If you encounter broken links or other problem about this publication, please let me know
and write your comment below. I will reply and fix as soon as possible.

  • Warren

    Thanks!!! Another amazing share!!! But a typically awful review courtesy of “allmusic”. People seeking this out should ignore the review. I know the reviews have to be included…..but…….

  • Lee Shafer

    consider using mega-nitroflare is ok but mega is amazing!

  • Chinolyn


  • lowe

    cd 2 link says dns not available
    plz searching everywhere for vol2

    • MrBOT

      Please try now

  • ernie

    cant’ download from nitrofile, any suggestions?

    • MrBOT


      What kind of issue do you have?