King Crimson – Live at The Orpheum (2015) {CD + DVD-Audio}

King Crimson - Live at The Orpheum (2015) [CD + DVD-Audio]

King Crimson – Live at The Orpheum (2015) {CD + DVD-Audio}
EAC Rip | FLAC Image + Cue + Log | Full Scans @600 dpi, JPG
DVD-A | ISO | MLP 2.0 @24bit/96kHz (AUDIO_TS) | LPCM 2.0 @24bit/96kHz (VIDEO_TS)
Total Size: 200 MB (CD) + 3.88 GB (DVD-A) + 25.4 MB (Scans) | 3% RAR Recovery
Label: Panegyric, Discipline Global Mobile | Cat#: DGMSP2 | Lenght: 40:56 | Genre: Progressive Rock

By all accounts, the somewhat unexpected 2014 King Crimson tour was a resounding success and Live at the Orpheum is the first offering for those who were unable to attend. The band had been reinvented with a combination of new and returning players and the set list consisted largely of tunes that hadn’t been performed live since the ’70s, if at all. The main wild card was the three-drummer front line, which easily could have turned into a mess, even without music as challenging as Crimson’s. Well, the time the three drummers (Pat Mastelotto, Bill Rieflin, and Gavin Harrison) spent rehearsing before convening the entire group was well worth it, because they play with a single mind throughout. The returning Mel Collins sounds fantastic on all manner of saxophones and flute, and hearing Tony Levin’s amazing bass playing on all these old King Crimson tunes is a real treat. Although there will always be haters, Jakko Jakszyk does a fine job on vocals and guitar and, of course, so does the venal leader on guitar. The two new-looking tracks are little more than teasers: the walk-on music performed this particular night by Fripp, Levin, and Collins (there was different walk-on music each night) and “Banshee Legs Bell Hassle” by Mastelotto, Rieflin, and Harrison. The band launches straight into “One More Red Nightmare” and the possibilities of the three-drummer lineup are immediately apparent. “The ConstruKction of Light” is the only tune that doesn’t date back to the ’70s, but the addition of Collins’ flute makes it seem like it does. Live at the Orpheum is a series of highlights, but what fans could have thought they’d ever hear “Sailor’s Tale” performed live? “Starless” is stunning. The only disappointment here is that the album is basically only five songs, so here’s hoping it’s just a taste of more to come.

Review by: Allmusic

Personnel / Credits:
• Pat Mastelotto – Drums, electronic drums, percussion
• Bill Rieflin – Drums, electronic drum, percussion, synthesizer, backing vocals
• Gavin Harrison – Drums, percussion, mixing (Front Line)
• Mel Collins – Saxophones, flutes
• Tony Levin – Basses, double bass, Chapman Stick, funk fingers, backing vocals, photography (cover and road photos)
• Jakko Jakszyk – Guitar, vocals, mixing (Back Line), production engineering
• Robert Fripp – Guitar, guitar synth, keyboards, Soundscapes, mixing (Back Line)

Additional Info:
• Recorded Date: September 30, 2014 & October 1, 2014
• Released Date: January 12, 2015
• Producer: King Crimson

01. Walk On: Monk Morph Chamber Music – 2:34
02. One More Red Nightmare – 6:07
03. Banshee Legs Bell Hassle – 1:40
04. The ConstruKction Of Light – 6:32
05. The Letters – 4:57
06. Sailor’s Tale – 6:51
07. Starless – 12:15

CUETools 2.1.5
Screenshots DVD
Back 6 label DVD

If you encounter broken links or other problem about this publication, please let me know
and write your comment below. I will reply and fix as soon as possible.