Steely Dan – Gaucho (1980) {2003, Remastered, CD-Layer & Hi-Res SACD Rip}

Steely Dan - Gaucho (1980) {2003, Remastered, CD-Layer & Hi-Res SACD Rip}

Steely Dan – Gaucho (1980) {2003, Remastered, CD-Layer & Hi-Res SACD Rip}
EAC Rip | FLAC Image + Cue + Log | Full Scans Included
SACD Rip | ISO @1bit/2.8224MHz, DSD64 | FLAC Tracks @24bit/88.2kHz | Stereo & Multichannel
Total Size: 269 MB (CD-Layer) + 2.35 GB (SACD ISO) + 1.94 GB (SACD FLAC Multichannel) + 757 MB (SACD FLAC Stereo) | 3% RAR Recovery
Label: EMI | EU | Cat#: 0602498605103 | Genre: Jazz Rock

Gaucho is the seventh studio album by the American jazz rock band Steely Dan, released on November 21, 1980 by MCA Records. The sessions for Gaucho represent the band’s typical penchant for studio perfectionism and obsessive recording technique. To record the album, the band used at least 42 different musicians, spent over a year in the studio, and far exceeded the original monetary advance given by the record label.

During the two-year span in which the album was recorded, the band was plagued by a number of creative, personal and professional problems.[4] MCA, Warner Bros. and Steely Dan had a three-way legal battle over the rights to release the album. After it was released, jazz musician Keith Jarrett threatened the band with legal action for writing credit on the title song “Gaucho”.

Gaucho marked a significant stylistic change for Steely Dan, introducing a more minimal, groove and atmosphere-based format. The harmonically complex chord changes that were a distinctive mark of earlier Steely Dan songs are less prominent on Gaucho, with the record’s songs tending to revolve around a single rhythm or mood. Gaucho proved to be Steely Dan’s final studio album before a 20-year absence from the recording industry.

Additional Info:
• Original Released Date: November 21, 1980
• Released Date: 2003, SACD
More info

01. Babylon Sisters – 05:54
02. Hey Nineteen – 05:10
03. Glamour Profession – 07:32
04. Gaucho – 05:32
05. Time Out Of Mind – 04:14
06. My Rival – 04:34
07. Third World Man – 05:14

CD-Layer Logs
Back & Label Preview

Hi-Res SACD Rip
If you encounter broken links or other problem about this publication, please let me know
and write your comment below. I will reply and fix as soon as possible.

  • Steve Ruggier

    Hello Mr Bot,
    Thank you.

  • Steve Ruggier

    Hello Mr Bot,
    I am listening to this right now, WOW! I have had the DVD audio version for years and this SACD version blows that away, Thank you so much.

  • Prefabfan

    sorry to wake you mr bot, its only 9 pm here, so i will type very quietly. That steely dan gaucho is great, what sound on the multichannel, and a clearer multic mix. In fact on Hey 19, in the last few bars, you can hear a guitar play a very strident chord twice that is not audible on the DVD Audio or the regular stereo CD. Listen to rear channels only “Now we got nothing in common” during that some guitar out of both rears plays some cacophony. Same with the part “Now we got nothing at all”. Rear channels only guitar 7th chord? everybody talk softly till morning, mr bot sleeping.

  • Prefabfan

    The story Walter gave us near the time this album came out; that an engineer had erased their first version of the album? Walter and truth were on poor terms and in fact the best songs intended for Gaucho were not erased, but were smuggled out of the studio and the left overs are Gaucho. “Were You Blind that Day?” “The Bear” “Kuhlee Baba” were the prime cuts but since Steely Dans record company claimed ownership of this album, Don and Walter could not give it to their new company the primecuts disappeared with a phony excuse; but the leftovers are still wonderful.