Beethoven / Le Concert Des nations / Jordi Savall – Revolution: Symphonies 1 À 5 (2020) [Hi-Res SACD Rip]

Beethoven / Le Concert Des nations / Jordi Savall - Revolution: Symphonies 1 À 5 (2020) [Hi-Res SACD Rip]

Beethoven / Le Concert Des nations / Jordi Savall – Revolution: Symphonies 1 À 5 (2020)
[Hi-Res SACD Rip]

3x Discs / SACD-ISO / DSD / 1bit / 2.8224MHz
3x Discs / FLAC Tracks / 24bit / 88.2kHz
Stereo & Multichannel
Total Size: 7.97 GB (ISO) + 9.41 GB (FLAC) | 3% RAR Recovery
Label: Alia Vox | EU | Cat#: AVSA9937 | Genre: Classical

Given that Renaissance and Baroque specialist Jordi Savall is not necessarily the conductor to whom one would first turn for Beethoven, he is nevertheless a great musician whose opinion is worth listening to in any repertory. As one might expect, he has some unorthodox opinions in this survey of Beethoven’s first five symphonies (a complete set was planned but was at least temporarily cut short by the 2020 pandemic). Savall augments the 35 players of his Le Concert des Nations orchestra with 25 other young players for a total of 60, historically in line with what Beethoven would have expected. His tempos are blistering, based on the metronome markings from later in Beethoven’s career. Beethoven, however, did not own a metronome when he wrote most of these works; Savall is extrapolating from the later ones. Also, Beethoven’s metronome was a first-generation machine, and if one is to cite scholarly studies, as Savall does in his notes here, it is also necessary to cite the ones that have concluded that Beethoven’s machine was defective. The problem with taking the first movement of the Symphony No. 3 in E flat major, Op. 55 (“Eroica”) a good four minutes quicker than most other recordings on the market is, as conductors before Savall have found, that it leaves nowhere to go in the Presto-marked finale. This said, Savall has drilled his players very well, and the clarity achieved at these speeds in the outer movements is both remarkable and exciting. The speed combines nicely with the textures Savall generates. Like other historical-performance specialists, he is at pains to avoid what he called the “hypertrophy” of the strings, revealing many inner lines, but instead of blasting period brass (he actually tamps these down), his emphasis is on the percussion, which indeed supplies the Revolution element that Savall uses for his overall title. The finale of the Symphony No. 1 in C major, Op. 21, generates a good deal of exciting momentum in Savall’s hands, and every time the Symphony No. 5 in C minor, Op. 67, seems ready to slacken even slightly, he drives the players forward with impressive results. The outer movements of the Symphony No. 2 in D major, Op. 36, and Symphony No. 4 in B flat major, Op. 60, have satisfying intensity, even if the “Funeral March” of the Symphony No. 3 is a rather aerobic funeral march. For those who buy the idea that Beethoven’s symphonies should be taken at these tempos, this will be a fresh and stimulating set. One awaits the final four symphonies as soon as they can be put on disc or hard drive. ― Allmusic

Disc 1
Symphonie N° 1 En Ut Majeur, Op. 21
01. I. Adagio Molto – Allegro Con Brio – 09:09
02. II. Andante Cantabile Con Moto – 06:53
03. III. Menuetto: Allegro Molto E Vivace – 04:00
04. IV. Finale: Adagio – Allegro Molto E Vivace – 05:46
Symphonie N° 2 En Ré Majeur, Op. 36
05. I. Adagio – Allegro Con Brio – 12:21
06. II. Laghetto – 10:28
07. III. Scherzo: Allegro – Trio – 04:35
08. IV. Allegro Molto – 06:48

Disc 2
Symphonie N° 3 En Mi Bémol Majeur, “Eroica” Op. 55
01. I. Allegro Con Brio – 15:34
02. II. Marcia Funebre: Adagio Assai – Maggiore – 12:48
03. III. Scherzo: Allegro Vivace – Trio – Alla Breve – Coda – 05:29
04. IV. Finale: Allegro Molto – Poco Andante – Presto – 10:07

Disc 3
Symphonie N° 4 En Si Bémol Majeur, Op. 60
01. I. Adagio – Allegro Vivace – 11:19
02. II. Adagio – 08:29
03. III. Allegro Molto E Vivace – Trio: Un Poco Meno Allegro – Tempo I Un Poco Meno Allegro – Tempo I – 05:34
04. IV. Allegro Ma Non Troppo – 06:57
Symphonie N° 5 En Do Mineur, Op. 67
05. I. Allegro Con Brio – Tempo I – 07:08
06. II. Andante Con Moto – Più Moto – Tempo I – 08:28
07. III. Allegro – 07:48
08. IV. Allegro – Tempo I – Allegro – Sempre Più Allegro – Presto – 11:03




If you encounter broken links or other problem about this publication, please let me know and write your comment below. I will reply and fix as soon as possible.