Maria João Pires – Chopin: The Nocturnes (2022) [Hi-Res SACD Rip]

Maria João Pires - Chopin: The Nocturnes (2022) [Hi-Res SACD Rip]

Maria João Pires – Chopin: The Nocturnes (2022) [Hi-Res SACD Rip]
SACD-ISO / DSD / 1bit / 2.8224MHz
DSF-Tracks / DSD / 1bit / 2.8224MHz
FLAC Tracks / 24bit / 88.2kHz
Total Size: 1.65 GB (DSF) + 1.14 GB (FLAC) + 3.16 GB (ISO)
Label: Esoteric Company | Japan | Cat#: ESSG-90260 | Genre: Classical

Those of us fortunate enough to have attended Maria Joao Pires’s Wigmore Hall recital earlier this year were given a hint of the recorded greatness to come when she ended her programme with a memorable selection of Chopin Nocturnes. And now, listening to the complete set, in bold recordings of demonstration quality, one is made doubly aware of the most concentrated eloquence and pianistic mastery. Passion rather than insouciance is Pires’s keynote. Here is no soft, moonlit option but an intensity and drama that scorn all complacent salon or drawing-room expectations. How she relishes Chopin’s central storms, creating a vivid and spectacular yet unhistrionic contrast with all surrounding serenity or ‘embalmed darkness’. The con fuoco of Op. 15 No. 1 erupts in a fine fury and in the first Nocturne, Op. 9 No. 1, Pires’s sharp observance of Chopin’s appassionato marking comes like a prophecy of the coda’s sudden blaze. Such resolution and psychological awareness make you realize that Chopin, like D. H. Lawrence, may well have thought that “there must be a bit of fear, and a bit of horror in your life”. Chopin, Pires informs us in no uncertain terms, was no sentimentalist. ―

01. No.1 in B flat minor, Op.9 No.1: Larghetto – 05:37
02. No.2 in E flat major, Op.9 No.2: Andante – 04:29
03. No.3 in B major, Op.9 No.3: Allegretto – 06:38
04. No.4 in F major, Op.15 No.1: Andante cantabile – 04:21
05. No.5 in F sharp major, Op.15 No.2: Larghetto – 03:26
06. No.8 in D flat major, Op.27 No.2: Lento sostenuto – 06:37
07. No.9 in B major, Op.32 No.1: Andante sostenuto – 04:54
08. No.12 in G major, Op.37 No.2: Andantino – 05:57
09. No.13 in C minor, Op.48 No.1: Lento – 06:44
10. No.14 in F sharp minor, Op.48 No.2: Andantino – 07:18
11. No.15 in F minor, Op.55 No.1: Andante – 04:39
12. No.16 in E flat major, Op.55 No.2: Lento sostenuto – 04:51
13. No.19 in E minor, Op.72 No.1: Andante – 04:08
14. No.20 in C sharp minor, Op.posth.: Lento con gran espressione – 04:01
15. No.21 in C minor, Op.posth. – 02:48




If you encounter broken links or other problem about this publication, please let me know and write your comment below. I will reply and fix as soon as possible.