Richard Wagner / Royal Scottish National Orchestra / Neeme Järvi – Overtures And Preludes (2013) [Hi-Res SACD Rip]

Richard Wagner / Royal Scottish National Orchestra / Neeme Järvi - Overtures And Preludes (2013) [Hi-Res SACD Rip]

Richard Wagner / Royal Scottish National Orchestra / Neeme Järvi – Overtures And Preludes (2013)
[Hi-Res SACD Rip]

SACD-ISO / DSD / 1bit / 2.8224MHz
DSF-Tracks / DSD / 1bit / 2.8224MHz
FLAC Tracks / 24bit / 88.2kHz
Stereo & Multichannel | Full Scans Included
Total Size: 4.31 GB (ISO) + 11.5 GB (DSF) + 4.95 GB (FLAC) | 3% RAR Recovery
Label: Chandos | Germany | Cat#: CHSA 5126 | Genre: Classical

On this album we bring together some of the highlights from Neeme Järvi’s five-volume Wagner series with the Royal Scottish National Orchestra. As an added bonus, we have included the Overture to Der fliegende Holländer, a piece not before released.

Among Wagner’s most revolutionary scores is the tragic-romantic opera Tristan und Isolde. The key themes of anticipation, longing, rapture, separation, hope, death, and transfiguration are suggested already in the famous Prelude to the opera, recorded here.

The Overture to Rienzi, Wagner’s third completed opera (1838 – 40), incorporates the melody of Rienzi’s prayer at the start of Act V, which since became the opera’s best-known aria, and ends with a dazzling military march. Die Feen was the composer’s first great romantic, although less well-known, opera. The overall style of the work, based on La donna serpente by Carlo Gozzi, owes its essentials to Beethoven, Marschner, and Weber.

Wagner based Das Liebesverbot on Shakespeare’s Measure for Measure. It is perhaps the most Mediterranean-sounding of his operas, something especially apparent in the brimming vitality of the Overture with its sparkling contributions of castanets, triangle, and tambourine. ‘Rollicking good fun’ wrote American Record Guide of this piece.

Also enriching the album are the Prelude to Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg, the Prelude to Act III of Lohengrin, and the seldom performed and recorded, Weber-inspired Overture which Wagner wrote in 1835 for the play Columbus by Theodor Apel. Eine Faust-Ouvertüre followed in 1840. Taking its inspiration from Goethe’s famous play, this work, together with Hector Berlioz’s Symphonie fantastique, became the main example of nineteenth-century programme music. ―

01. Overture to ‘Die Feen’, WWV 32 – 10:49
02. Overture to ‘Columbus’, WWV 37 – 08:02
03. Overture to ‘Liebesverbot’, WWV 38 – 08:10
04. Overture to ‘Rienzi, der Letzte der Tribunen’, WWV 49 – 09:43
05. Eine Faust-Ouvertüre, WWV 59 – 11:03
06. Overture to ‘Der fliegende Holländer’, WWV 63 [Not Previously Released] – 11:00
07. Prelude to Act III of ‘Lohengrin’, WWV 75 – 03:04
08. Prelude to ‘Tristan und Isolde’, WWV 90 – 06:43
09. Prelude to ‘Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg’, WWV 96 – 08:58




If you encounter broken links or other problem about this publication, please let me know and write your comment below. I will reply and fix as soon as possible.