Joan Baez – Diamonds & Rust (1975) {1995, MFSL, 24-Karat Gold Disc Remastered}

Joan Baez - Diamonds & Rust (1975) {1995, MFSL, 24-Karat Gold Disc Remastered}

Joan Baez – Diamonds & Rust (1975) {1995, MFSL, 24-Karat Gold Disc Remastered}
EAC Rip | APE Image + Cue + Log | Full Scans Included
Total Size: 270 MB | 3% RAR Recovery
Label: MFSL UltraDisc II | USA | Cat#: UDCD 646 | Genre: Folk

With the Vietnam War winding down, Joan Baez, who had devoted one side of her last album to her trip to Hanoi, delivered the kind of commercial album A&M Records must have wanted when it signed her three years earlier. But she did it on her own terms, putting together a session band of contemporary jazz veterans like Larry Carlton, Wilton Felder, and Joe Sample, and mixing a wise selection from the work of current singer-songwriters like Jackson Browne and John Prine with pop covers of Stevie Wonder and the Allman Brothers Band, and an unusually high complement of her own writing. A&M, no doubt recalling the success of her cover of the Band’s “The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down,” released her version of the Allmans’ “Blue Sky” as a single, and it got halfway up the charts. But the real hit was the title track, a self-penned masterpiece on the singer’s favorite subject, her relationship with Bob Dylan. Outdoing the current crop of confessional singer/songwriters at soul baring, Baez sang to Dylan, reminiscing about her ’60s love affair with him intensely, affectionately, and unsentimentally. It was her finest moment as a songwriter and one of her finest performances, period, and when A&M finally released it on 45, it made the Top 40, propelling the album to gold status. But those who bought the disc for “Diamonds & Rust” also got to hear “Winds of the Old Days,” in which Baez forgave Dylan for abandoning the protest movement, as well as the jazzy “Children and All That Jazz,” a delightful song about motherhood, and the wordless vocals of “Dida,” a duet with Joni Mitchell accompanied by Mitchell’s backup band, Tom Scott and the L.A. Express. The cover songs were typically accomplished, making this the strongest album of Baez’s post-folk career. ― Allmusic

Additional Info:
• Original Released Date: April 1975
• Released Date: 1995 by MFSL
More info

01. Diamonds and Rust – 04:47
02. Fountain Of Sorrow – 04:32
03. Never Dreamed You’d Leave In Summer – 02:44
04. Children And All That Jazz – 03:07
05. Simple Twist Of Fate – 04:45
06. Blue Sky – 02:47
07. Hello In There – 03:05
08. Jesse – 04:29
09. Winds Of The Old Days – 03:56
10. Dida – 03:26
11. I Dream Of Jeannie/Danny Boy – 04:12

[su_spoiler title=”EAC Log” icon=”plus-square-1″ style=”fancy”]
Click Here[/su_spoiler]
[su_spoiler title=”CUETools 2.1.5″ icon=”plus-square-1″ style=”fancy”]
Click Here[/su_spoiler]
[su_spoiler title=”Back & Label” icon=”plus-square-1″ style=”fancy”]


If you encounter broken links or other problem about this publication, please let me know
and write your comment below. I will reply and fix as soon as possible.