Carol Kidd – Nice Work (1987) [2004, Reissue, Hi-Res SACD Rip]

Carol Kidd - Nice Work (1987) [2004, Reissue, Hi-Res SACD Rip]

Carol Kidd – Nice Work (1987) [2004, Reissue, Hi-Res SACD Rip]
SACD-ISO / DSD / 1bit / 2.8224MHz
DSF-Tracks / DSD / 1bit / 2.8224MHz
FLAC Tracks / 24bit / 88.2kHz
Stereo & Multichannel | Basic Scans Included
Total Size: 6.02 GB (DSF) + 2.49 GB (FLAC) + 2.20 GB (ISO) | 3% RAR Recovery
Label: Linn Records | UK | Cat#: AKD 229 | Genre: Vocal Jazz

Nice Work features a spectrum of standards from the Great American Songbook interpreted by the legendary UK singer, Carol Kidd. Originally released in 1987 Nice Work has been re-issued as part of Linns ECHO series which offers a second chance to enjoy the best of the labels award-winning catalogue. The song list is chosen with Carols characteristic good taste; several Gershwin favourites are interspersed amongst neglected but estimable material, as well as two numbers by the song-writing duo Dietz & Schwartz: the little known Confessions and the more familiar I Guess I’ll Have To Change My Plan. Carol is supported by her excellent trio of Sandy Taylor (piano), Alex Moore (bass) and Murray Smith (drums), plus special guests Bruce Adams (trumpet & flugel horn), Dave McLellan (trumpet), George Kidd (trombone), Frank Pantrini (tenor saxophone) and Gordon Cruickshank (baritone saxophone). From the beginning of Carol’s impressive career, her albums were extremely well received and cemented her place in the jazz world as a respected recording artist, building on her already superb reputation in the jazz club and concert hall. With a triumphant career in jazz spanning half a century, Carol Kidd is widely recognised as Britain’s finest ballads singer’ (Jazz Review). She has been named Best Vocalist at the British Jazz Awards on four occasions and has been awarded the MBE for Services to Jazz. Carol has received accolades from Frank Sinatra Carol Kidd is the best kept secret of British Jazz and Tony Bennett You should be world-famous. Where’ve you been?; as well as being voted Best Performer at the Edinburgh International Jazz Festival and Best Vocalist at the Cannes International Jazz Awards. To many of her fans, and critics alike, Carol is up there with the jazz greats. She has received favourable comparisons with Ella Fitzgerald, Peggy Lee and Billie Holliday and has had continued praise from modern and traditional jazz performers.

01. Nice Work If You Can Get It [Gershwin] – 02:17
02. Havin’ Myself A Time [Robin] – 02:34
03. Isn’t It A Pity [Gershwin] – 04:31
04. Bidin’ My Time [Gershwin] – 01:37
05. Sing For Your Supper [Rodgers and Hart] – 02:53
06. Daydream [Ellington, Strayhorn/Latouche] – 04:42
07. I’ll Take Romance [Oakland/Hammerstein] – 02:17
08. New York On Sunday [Nero/Coates] – 02:05
09. What Is There To Say [Duke/Harburg] – 04:21
10. Mean To Me [Ahlert/Turk] – 03:04
11. I Guess I’ll Have To Change My Plan [Schwartz/Dietz] – 03:26
12. Starting Tomorrow [Pockriss/Tobias] – 01:49
13. Confessions [Schwartz/Dietz] – 02:08




If you encounter broken links or other problem about this publication, please let me know and write your comment below. I will reply and fix as soon as possible.