Norah Jones – Visions (2024) [Japanese Edition]

Norah Jones - Visions (2024) [Japanese Edition]

Norah Jones – Visions (2024) [Japanese Edition]
EAC Rip | FLAC Tracks + Cue + Log | Full Scans Included
Total Size: 392 MB
Label: Universal | Japan | Cat#: UCCQ-9666 | Genre: Vocal Jazz

Norah Jones named her eighth proper studio set Visions because many of the musical ideas occurred to her in the middle of the night, right when her consciousness was hazy: they weren’t fully realized so much as an apparition. That sense of dreaminess carries through to the finished product but not in ways that are commonly associated with such a description. Far from being an album constructed for twilight hours — a dimly lit excursion into mood music — Visions is clear and light, its textures vividly articulated and its rhythms mellow and fluid. It’s music that feels alive, inhaling and exhaling with a gentle insistence; it’s never rushed, never clipped. Despite the record’s inherent relaxation, Visions never quite proceeds in a linear path. Chalk this up to Jones’ choice of collaborator. Working again with Leon Michels, a veteran of the seminal retro-soul outfit Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings who previously produced Norah’s 2021 seasonal set I Dream of Christmas, Jones embraces the possibilities of psychedelic-tinged soul without succumbing to its trappings. Visions pulsates softly and sweetly, like a lava lamp slowly shifting colors in the background. The hues aren’t hyper-saturated; they’re pleasing pastels radiating warmth. The emphasis on atmosphere isn’t unusual for a Norah Jones album — after all, she has worked with hip-hop collage artist Danger Mouse — but Visions feels bright and open. It glides between modulated soul jams, languid ballads, and hopeful pop tunes, each enlivened by flair that’s felt more than heard: horns start to sigh in the background, Jones’ voice gets an off-kilter filter, guitars take an elliptical journey to a resolving chord. The results aren’t startling so much as they’re fresh, avoiding musical and lyrical clichés. Witness “That’s Life,” a closing number that offers its inspirational advice not only with a knowing shrug but a song that rushes into a chorus and backs away on its bridge; the sentiment is familiar, but the execution isn’t. It’s a fitting farewell on a record that offers boundless imagination underneath its cool surface. ― Allmusic

01. All This Time – 03:16
02. Staring at the Wall – 04:31
03. Paradise – 03:25
04. Queen of the Sea – 04:47
05. Visions – 02:42
06. Running – 03:29
07. I Just Wanna Dance – 03:08
08. I’m Awake – 04:18
09. Swept Up in the Night – 03:34
10. On My Way – 03:52
11. Alone With My Thoughts – 04:15
12. That’s Life – 04:22
Japan Bonus Track
13. Can You Believe – 03:55




If you encounter broken links or other problem about this publication, please let me know and write your comment below. I will reply and fix as soon as possible.