Weather Report – Black Market (1973) [2001, Japan, Reissue, Hi-Res SACD Rip]

Weather Report - Black Market (1973) [2001, Japan, Reissue, Hi-Res SACD Rip]

Weather Report – Black Market (1973) [2001, Japan, Reissue, Hi-Res SACD Rip]
SACD Rip | ISO / DSD / 1bit / 2.8224MHz | FLAC Tracks / 24bit / 88.2kHz
Single Layer SACD | Full Scans Included
Total Size: 1.55 GB (ISO) + 714 MB (FLAC) | 3% RAR Recovery
Label: SME Records | Japan | Cat#: SRGS 4576 | Genre: Fusion

The shifts in Weather Report’s personnel come fast and furious now, with Narada Michael Walden and Chester Thompson as the drummers, Alex Acuna and Don Alias at the percussion table, and Alphonso Johnson giving way to the mighty, martyred Jaco Pastorius. It is interesting to hear Pastorius expanding the bass role only incrementally over what the more funk-oriented Johnson was doing at this early point — that is, until “Barbary Coast,” where suddenly Jaco leaps athletically forward into the spotlight. Joe Zawinul or just Zawinul, as he preferred to be billed — contributed all of side one’s compositions, mostly Third World-flavored workouts except for “Cannon Ball,” a touching tribute to his ex-boss Cannonball Adderley (who had died the year before). Shorter, Pastorius, and Johnson split the remainder of the tracks, with Shorter now set in a long-limbed compositional mode for electric bands that would serve him into the 1990s. While it goes without saying that most Weather Report albums are transition albums, this diverse record is even more transient than most, paving the way for WR’s most popular period while retaining the old sense of adventure. ― Allmusic

01. Black Market – 06:30
02. Cannon Ball – 04:40
03. Gibraltar – 07:48
04. Elegant People – 05:06
05. Three Clowns – 03:26
06. Barbary Coast – 03:15
07. Herandnu – 06:35




If you encounter broken links or other problem about this publication, please let me know and write your comment below. I will reply and fix as soon as possible.