Bruce Springsteen – Only The Strong Survive (2022) [Official Digital Release] [CD-Quality + Hi-Res]

Bruce Springsteen - Only The Strong Survive (2022) [Official Digital Release] [CD-Quality + Hi-Res]

Bruce Springsteen – Only The Strong Survive (2022) [Official Digital Release] [CD-Quality + Hi-Res]
Hi-Res / FLAC Tracks / 24bit / 96kHz | CD-Quality / FLAC Tracks / 16bit / 44.1kHz
Total Size: 1.55 GB | 3% RAR Recovery
Label: Columbia | Genre: Pop Rock, Rock & Roll

Only the Strong Survive may be the first time Bruce Springsteen has recorded an album dedicated to soul and R&B, yet those styles have always been present in his music, welling up in the rhythms and outlook of the E Street Band at their most jubilant. This persistent, evident love of soul means his decision to cut a collection of covers of R&B chestnuts isn’t surprising, nor is it a shock that the 15 songs chosen for this 2022 comp demonstrate deep knowledge and good taste; those traits have been a constant throughout Springsteen’s career. The unexpected thing about Only the Strong Survive is how it’s essentially a two-man show between Springsteen and co-producer Ron Aniello, who plays every instrument save brass, woodwinds, and strings. There are also occasional backing vocals, along with two guest spots by Sam Moore, but the basic tracks are all studio creations of Aniello, who expertly re-creates the sounds of Motown, Philadelphia International, Stax, and Chicago’s uptown soul. His mastery in crafting the tracks inadvertently illustrates the distance between the originals and the covers; those oldies crackled with the magic created by a bunch of musicians in a small room but these digital wonders feel studied and airless, even if they do sound good. The lack of additional musicians does mean that all the attention is placed on Springsteen’s performance and, thankfully, he sounds quite good. He knows how to play with his diminished range, knows how to get a good growl going, knows how to croon without getting saccharine — skills that help keep the proceedings lively. It’s enjoyable enough that it takes a minute to realize that Springsteen and Aniello aren’t exactly re-interpreting these 15 songs: they’re merely playing them for a lark. That’s enough for a good time but once Only the Strong Survive fades out with the last notes of “Someday We’ll Be Together,” there’s not much that lingers behind in the memory. ― Allmusic

01. Only the Strong Survive – 03:00
02. Soul Days – 03:58
03. Nightshift – 04:57
04. Do I Love You (Indeed I Do) – 02:27
05. The Sun Ain’t Gonna Shine Anymore – 03:44
06. Turn Back the Hands of Time – 03:07
07. When She Was My Girl – 03:17
08. Hey, Western Union Man – 03:53
09. I Wish It Would Rain – 03:25
10. Don’t Play That Song – 03:35
11. Any Other Way – 02:55
12. I Forgot To Be Your Lover – 02:29
13. 7 Rooms Of Gloom – 02:40
14. What Becomes of the Brokenhearted – 03:32
15. Someday We’ll Be Together – 03:34



If you encounter broken links or other problem about this publication, please let me know and write your comment below. I will reply and fix as soon as possible.