Spirit – The Family That Plays Together (1968) {2017, Audio Fidelity Remastered, CD-Layer & Hi-Res SACD Rip}

Spirit - The Family That Plays Together (1968) {2017, Audio Fidelity Remastered, CD-Layer & Hi-Res SACD Rip}

Spirit – The Family That Plays Together (1968) {2017, Audio Fidelity Remastered, CD-Layer & Hi-Res SACD Rip}
EAC Rip | FLAC Tracks + Cue + Log | Full Scans Included
SACD Rip | ISO @1bit/2.8224MHz, DSD64 | FLAC Tracks @24bit/88.2kHz
Total Size: 310 MB (CD-Layer) + 2.28 GB (SACD ISO) + 1.07 GB (SACD FLAC) | 3% RAR Recovery
Label: Audio Fidelity | Austria | Cat#: AFZ 260 | Genre: Progressive Rock, Psychedelic Rock

The Family That Plays Together, the second of four albums released by the original Spirit lineup, was released on Ode Records in December 1968. More than its predecessor, Spirit, their self-titled and surreal debut, The Family That Plays Together displays the band’s ability to play beyond the genre of psychedelic rock. Tracks such as “It Shall Be” and “Silky Sam” demonstrate the ease with which the ensemble can incorporate jazz into their idiosyncratic form of rock, while “Jewish” and “Aren’t You Glad” show the band’s competence in exploiting both world music and jam rock. “Poor Richard,” “Jewish,” and “All the Same” feature double track lead breaks by guitarist Randy California. The album’s title was inspired by the stepson-stepfather relationship between guitarist Randy California and percussionist Ed Cassidy. It alludes to the slogan “The family that prays together stays together”, created by ad-writer Al Scalpone for the Family Rosary Crusade and popular in American and British rhetoric beginning in the 1940s.

The album’s arrangements were created by Marty Paich, who also arranged and conducted Spirit’s eponymous debut album and their third album, Clear, as well as Model Shop (the soundtrack to a film of the same name, which was recorded after “Family” but not released until 2004).

The album cover was shot at the Sunset Highland Motel, located at 6830 Sunset Boulevard in Hollywood, California, just across from Hollywood High School.

“Jewish” is performed with Hebrew lyrics that are taken from the traditional song “Hine Ma Tov”, based on King David’s Psalm 133.

Ed Cassidy’s drum solo in “All the Same” is similar to Joe Morello’s solo in the Dave Brubeck Quartet song “Castilian Drums”.

Additional Info:
• Original Released Date: December 1968
• Released Date: 2017 by Audio Fidelity / Hybrid SACD
More info

01. I Got a Line on You – 02:39
02. It Shall Be – 03:00
03. Poor Richard – 02:32
04. Silky Sam – 03:45
05. Drunkard – 02:28
06. Darlin’ If – 03:39
07. It’s All the Same – 04:49
08. Jewish – 02:48
09. Dream Within a Dream – 03:02
10. She Smiles – 02:27
11. Aren’t You Glad – 05:34
12. Fog – 02:26
13. So Little to Say – 03:01
14. Mellow Fellow – 03:50
15. Now or Anywhere – 04:23
16. Space Chile – 06:29

[su_spoiler title=”CD-Layer Logs” icon=”plus-square-1″ style=”fancy”]
[su_spoiler title=”Dynamic Range Report” icon=”plus-square-1″ style=”fancy”]
SACD FLAC[/su_spoiler]
[su_spoiler title=”Back & Label Preview” icon=”plus-square-1″ style=”fancy”]

image host image host


Hi-Res SACD Rip
Password: www.LosslessMA.net
If you encounter broken links or other problem about this publication, please let me know
and write your comment below. I will reply and fix as soon as possible.