Neil Diamond – The Jazz Singer (1980) {MFSL Remastered, CD-Format + Hi-Res Vinyl Rip}

Neil Diamond - The Jazz Singer (1980) {MFSL Remastered, CD-Format + Hi-Res Vinyl Rip}

Neil Diamond – The Jazz Singer (1980) {MFSL Remastered, CD-Format + Hi-Res Vinyl Rip}
Vinyl Rip | Hi-Res / FLAC Tracks / 24bit / 96kHz | CD-Format / FLAC Tracks / 16bit / 44.1kHz
Full Scans Included
Total Size: 978 MB (Hi-Res) + 347 MB (CD-Format) | 3% RAR Recovery
Label: Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab | Japan JVC Pressed | Cat#: MFSL 1-071 | Genre: Soundtrack, Adult Contemporary
Half-Speed Mastered

Neil Diamond’s 1980 screen turn as a charismatic singer torn between Jewish tradition and pop music stardom spawned this phenomenally successful soundtrack album — six million copies and counting. Diamond’s 21st century resurgence as a walking item of kitsch has sparked renewed interest in the bombastic melting-pot jam “America,” as well as his signature late-career ballad “Hello Again.” In addition, the lite FM favorite “Love on the Rocks” is classic, raw-throated Neil. But beyond these notables, The Jazz Singer is an album of passable pop songs that stand on the edge of disco and in the grip of melodrama. The hyper “You Baby” is dressed up with an audio clip marking the film’s embarrassing black face sequence, while the album’s midsection sags with songs that shine like Sunset Strip billboards, yet lack any real substance. Swelling strings and lovely lyrics abound, but it all seems directionless, as if Diamond’s just going through the motions. Similarly, Jewish traditionals like “Kol Nidre/My Name is Yussel” are important as thematic elements. But removed from the film and in the context of open-collared, glitzy numbers like “Hey Louise,” their reverence is off-putting. As it’s aged, The Jazz Singer has come to mark the moment when Diamond fully embraced his soft rock audience and completely turned his back on the ambition and spine-tingling vocal presence of his early career. That decision certainly proved to be an economic winner, but it ignored the fact that his most resonant performances really tear into a song with true mirth. The Jazz Singer’s big hits have this quality — a fact not lost on a new generation of listeners who revel in Diamond’s powerful voice and showmanship. But the album’s bulk is as wooden as Neil’s acting. ― Allmusic

Additional Info:
• Released Date: November 10, 1980
More info

Side A
01. America – 04:19
02. Adon Olom – 00:34
03. You Baby – 03:00
04. Love on the Rocks – 03:39
05. Amazed and Confused – 02:54
06. On the Robert E. Lee – 02:03
07. Summerlove – 03:18
Side B
08. Hello Again – 04:09
09. Acapulco – 02:51
10. Hey Louise – 03:00
11. Songs of Life – 03:36
12. Jerusalem – 03:04
13. Kol Nidre/My Name Is Yussel – 01:39
14. America (Reprise) – 02:25

[su_spoiler title=”Dynamic Range Report” icon=”plus-square-1″ style=”fancy”]

[su_spoiler title=”Labels” icon=”plus-square-1″ style=”fancy”]

image host image host


If you encounter broken links or other problem about this publication, please let me know
and write your comment below. I will reply and fix as soon as possible.