VA – Across The Universe: Music From The Motion Picture (2007) {2CD Deluxe Edition}

VA - Across The Universe: Music From The Motion Picture (2007) {2CD Deluxe Edition}

VA – Across The Universe: Music From The Motion Picture (2007) {2CD Deluxe Edition}
EAC Rip | 2xCD | FLAC Image + Cue + Log | Full Scans Included
Total Size: 671 MB | 3% RAR Recovery
Label: Interscope | EU | Cat#: 0602517469501 | Genre: Soundtrack

As soundtracks to misguided Beatles-inspired movies go, Across the Universe — the companion piece to Julie Taymor’s pseudo-psychedelic fantasmagoria extravaganza, telling the story of the ’60s through the tunes of the Fab Four — isn’t too embarrassing. Certainly, it lacks the appalling tackiness of Sgt. Pepper and it’s not as stuffy as All This and World War II, but avoiding these two traps isn’t a very high bar to meet, and Across the Universe winds up having its own bewildering gaudy moments. Taymor’s overly designed fantasia is at once too tasteful and too garish, which is an odd combination for an odd movie — and something that may be more gripping onscreen than it is on record, where the flaws of the casting tend to be harder to ignore, at least in musical terms. Curiously enough, that’s as true of the actors as it is the pro singers. It may be expected that Evan Rachel Wood is as charmless on record as she is onscreen, but it’s hard to ignore how Dana Fuchs furiously channels Melissa Etheridge (especially on “Helter Skelter”) to no avail when her performance is isolated as music, but the biggest surprise is that Bono not only looks like a dead ringer for Robin Williams in the film, but he sounds a bit like him too, as he gracelessly slaughters “I Am the Walrus” and “Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds” with his dogged, overly earnest readings. Bono may have no ear for whimsy, but his brave literalism in the face of nonsense fits Taymor’s literal interpretations of the Beatles catalog yet it provides the soundtrack with its only fleeting moments of camp — although T.V. Carpio’s lesbian longing on “I Want to Hold Your Hand” comes close, due to its hazy, soft symphonic makeover — as most of this slides by agreeably enough. Jim Sturgess has the same plainspoken delivery as Ewan MacGregor in Moulin Rouge, which helps in love songs from “All My Loving” to “Something” — and he does a credible job on the rockabilly revamp of “I’ve Just Seen a Face” — and Joe Cocker steals the show with his slinky, funky, spacy version of “Come Together.” And, apart from Bono and Fuchs’ too-strong soulful belting, nothing is distracting — but nothing is particularly memorable as music, either, which is odd because the movie itself is certainly memorable, whether you like it or not. But that just means that Across the Universe falls prey to the curse of jukebox musicals on Broadway — no matter how good or how bad the music is, it ultimately only whets the appetite for the original recordings, which is certainly the case here. ― Allmusic

Additional Info:
• Released Date: September 18, 2007
More info

CD 1
01. Jim Sturgess – Girl – 01:04
02. Evan Rachel Wood – Hold Me Tight – 02:36
03. Jim Sturgess – All My Loving – 02:27
04. T.V. Carpio – I Want To Hold Your Hand – 02:47
05. Joe Anderson and Jim Sturgess – With a Little Help From My Friends – 03:13
06. Evan Rachel Wood – It Won’t Be Long – 02:18
07. Jim Sturgess – I’ve Just Seen a Face – 01:50
08. Carol Woods and Timothy T. Mitchum – Let It Be – 03:48
09. Joe Cocker – Come Together – 04:26
10. Dana Fuchs – Why Don’t We Do It In The Road? – 01:22
11. Evan Rachel Wood – If I Fell – 02:40
12. Joe Anderson, Dana Fuchs and T.V. Carpio – I Want You (She’s So Heavy) – 03:44
13. Dana Fuchs, Jim Sturgess, Evan Rachel Wood and T.V. Carpio – Dear Prudence – 05:18
14. Secret Machines – Flying – 03:56
15. Secret Machines – Blue Jay Way – 04:42

CD 2
01. Bono and Secret Machines – I Am The Walrus – 04:47
02. Eddie Izzard – Being For The Benefit of Mr. Kite – 02:42
03. Evan Rachel Wood, Jim Sturgess, Joe Anderson – Because – 02:32
04. Jim Sturgess – Something – 03:02
05. Dana Fuchs and Martin Luther McCoy – Oh! Darling – 02:29
06. Jim Sturgess and Joe Anderson – Strawberry Fields Forever – 03:38
07. Jim Sturgess – Revolution – 02:18
08. Martin Luther McCoy – While My Guitar Gently Weeps – 04:02
09. Jim Sturgess – Across The Universe – 03:29
10. Dana Fuchs – Helter Skelter – 03:41
11. Joe Anderson and Salma Hayek – Happiness Is A Warm Gun – 03:10
12. Evan Rachel Wood – Blackbird – 03:06
13. Joe Anderson – Hey Jude – 04:12
14. Dana Fuchs – Don’t Let Me Down – 03:07
15. Jim Sturgess and Dana Fuchs – All You Need Is Love – 03:21
16. Bono – Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds – 04:23

[su_spoiler title=”EAC Logs” icon=”plus-square-1″ style=”fancy”]
CD 1
CD 2

[su_spoiler title=”CUETools 2.1.5 Logs” icon=”plus-square-1″ style=”fancy”]
CD 1
CD 2

[su_spoiler title=”Back & Labels Preview” icon=”plus-square-1″ style=”fancy”]


If you encounter broken links or other problem about this publication, please let me know
and write your comment below. I will reply and fix as soon as possible.