Etta James – The Definitive Collection (2006)

Etta James - The Definitive Collection (2006)

Etta James – The Definitive Collection (2006)
EAC Rip | FLAC Tracks + Cue + Log | Full Scans Included
Total Size: 427 MB | 3% RAR Recovery
Label: Geffen / Ume | USA | Cat#: B0004010-02 | Genre: Blues, R&B

Whoa. There are many Etta James collections out there. The standard-bearers thus far have been the Chess Box and the Essential Etta James. This set attempts to do something else and goes deep into her catalog to dig out the gems from her years with Modern, Argo, Cadet, Chess, Warner Brothers, Island, and Private Music/BMG, and presents the full spectrum of her five-decade career. As such, there are many different kinds of songs here revealing the complexity of the vocalist herself, and as such, thus becomes a real portrait of the artist. Juxtapose, for instance, early sides like “The Wallflower Dance (Dance With Me Henry),” with its wild R&B bravado and the deep soul-blues of “All I Could Do Is Cry,” the balladry of “The Man I Love,” the bone-crushing blues of “The Sky Is Crying,” and the torch song ballad technique on “My Dearest Darling,” and the despairing soul inherent in songs such as “All the Way Down,” and the listener begins to get an idea of just how vast and deep James talent really is. These 23 cuts give a fine and full picture of all that diversity without sacrificing a note of quality. This is a fine introduction to James for those listeners who have become acquainted with her in recent years, and a decent look at the later material for those cynical purists who think it was over and done by 1970. Recommended. ― Allmusic

Additional Info:
• Released Date: January 10, 2006
More info

01. The Wallflower (Dance With Me Henry) – 02:59
02. Good Rockin’ Daddy – 02:24
03. W-O-M-A-N – 02:44
04. All I Could Do Is Cry – 02:57
05. If I Can’t Have You – 03:01
06. My Dearest Darling – 03:05
07. At Last – 03:01
08. Don’t Cry Baby – 02:27
09. A Sunday Kind Of Love – 03:18
10. Trust In Me – 03:00
11. Something’s Got A Hold On Me – 02:50
12. Stop The Wedding – 02:52
13. Pushover – 02:57
14. Tell Mama – 02:24
15. I’d Rather Go Blind – 02:36
16. Security – 02:29
17. All The Way Down – 05:35
18. Take It To The Limit – 04:06
19. Damn Your Eyes – 04:11
20. Whatever Gets You Through The Night – 03:51
21. The Man I Love – 04:27
22. I’ve Been Loving You Too Long – 04:22
23. The Sky Is Crying – 03:59

[su_spoiler title=”EAC Log” icon=”plus-square-1″ style=”fancy”]
Click Here[/su_spoiler]
[su_spoiler title=”CUETools 2.1.5″ icon=”plus-square-1″ style=”fancy”]
Click Here[/su_spoiler]
[su_spoiler title=”Back & Label Preview” icon=”plus-square-1″ style=”fancy”]


If you encounter broken links or other problem about this publication, please let me know
and write your comment below. I will reply and fix as soon as possible.