Willie And Leon – One For The Road (1979) [Official Digital Release] [2016, Reissue, Hi-Res]

Willie And Leon - One For The Road (1979) [Official Digital Release] [2016, Reissue, Hi-Res]

Willie And Leon – One For The Road (1979) [Official Digital Release] [2016, Reissue, Hi-Res]
Hi-Res | FLAC Tracks / 24bit / 96kHz
Total Size: 1.09 GB | 3% RAR Recovery
Label: Columbia | Genre: Country

One for the Road, Willie Nelson’s duet record with fellow American music maverick Leon Russell, followed months after his freewheeling, jam-heavy double album Willie and Family Live. This record (once a double LP, now a single CD) wasn’t recorded live and the songs run a little shorter, but it shares the same sort of loose spirit and easy-rolling eclecticism as the two, essentially backed by the Family, run through a mess of country and pop standards. The latter makes up for the second half and its appropriately a little more subdued feel, but it’s earthier than Stardust and it makes a good companion for the irresistible first half, which is often cheerfully rowdy (particularly on the dynamite opening triptych of “Detour,” “I Saw the Light,” and “Heartbreak Hotel”) and convincingly bluesy on the ballads and mid-tempo groovers like the excellent “Trouble in Mind.” Both Nelson and Russell are known as sharp interpreters of other people’s material, and teamed together, they might not reinvent these songs (though they come close on “Heartbreak Hotel”), but they infuse a lot of sound and spirit into these songs. It’s a little bit too laid-back and easy to qualify as a no-holds-barred classic (particularly on the second half), but that mellow charm is precisely why it’s a small, priceless gem for any serious fan of either singer. ― Allmusic

01. Detour – 02:26
02. I Saw The Light – 03:06
03. Heartbreak Hotel – 03:04
04. Let The Rest Of The World Go By – 03:49
05. Trouble In Mind – 02:43
06. Don’t Fence Me In – 02:28
07. The Wild Side Of Life – 03:24
08. Ridin’ Down The Canyon – 02:23
09. Sioux City Sue – 03:17
10. You Are My Sunshine – 02:52
11. Danny Boy – 04:00
12. Always – 02:19
13. Summertime – 02:30
14. Because Of You – 02:07
15. Am I Blue – 02:20
16. Tenderly – 04:01
17. Far Away Places – 03:10
18. That Lucky Old Sun (Just Rolls Around Heaven All Day) – 02:41
19. Stormy Weather – 02:26
20. One For My Baby And “One More For The Road” – 02:34



If you encounter broken links or other problem about this publication, please let me know and write your comment below. I will reply and fix as soon as possible.