Return To Forever – Musicmagic (1977) {2016, Audio Fidelity Remastered, CD-Layer + Hi-Res SACD Rip}

Return To Forever - Musicmagic (1977) {2016, Audio Fidelity Remastered, CD-Layer + Hi-Res SACD Rip}

Return To Forever – Musicmagic (1977) {2016, Audio Fidelity Remastered, CD-Layer + Hi-Res SACD Rip}
EAC Rip | FLAC Tracks + Cue + Log
SACD Rip | ISO / DSD / 1bit / 2.8224MHz | FLAC Tracks / 24bit / 88.2kHz
Hybrid SACD | Full Scans Included
Total Size: 241 MB (CD-Layer) + 677 MB (SACD ISO) + 803 MB (SACD FLAC) | 3% RAR Recovery
Label: Audio Fidelity | Austria | Cat#: AFZ 250 | Genre: Jazz

Return to Forever was one of the most commercially and artistically successful jazz/rock bands of the ’70s. Albums like Hymn of the Seventh Galaxy and Where Have I Known You Before are filled with the band’s chemistry and deft mix of genres. This 1977 effort marks the departure of founding member, drummer Lenny White and guitarist Al DiMeola. White is replaced here with Gerry Brown. A five-piece horn section is added, which includes the returning Joe Farrell. Gayle Moran also is added as a vocalist and on keyboards. Those expecting a continuation of what the group was working on during the great Romantic Warrior will be disappointed. Musicmagic features none of the exciting and challenging playing that typified their best work. The first track, “The Musician,” starts off strongly with a great intro then meanders, a trait that often marred Corea’s best work of this era. “Hello Again,” a duet with Clarke and Moran, is skilled but a little mawkish. The title track plays to this incarnation’s strengths with the horn section providing punchy support as Corea has a harder-edged Fender Rhodes solo. Unfortunately, Musicmagic is more often than not filled with bombast and melodrama typified on “So Long Mickey Mouse” and “Do You Ever.” The last track, the melodically compelling “The Endless Night,” also has the vocals of Clarke and Moran blending particularly well on the song. Despite the best intentions, Musicmagic lacks the swagger and confidence of the group’s best work. ― Allmusic

Additional Info:
• Original Released Date: January, 1977
• SACD Released Date: 2016
More info

01. The Musician – 07:12
02. Hello Again – 03:47
03. Musicmagic – 11:06
04. So Long Mickey Mouse – 06:09
05. Do You Ever – 04:00
06. The Endless Night – 09:43

[su_spoiler title=”CD-Layer Logs” icon=”plus-square-1″ style=”fancy”]

[su_spoiler title=”Dynamic Range Report” icon=”plus-square-1″ style=”fancy”]
SACD FLAC[/su_spoiler]

[su_spoiler title=”Back & Label Preview” icon=”plus-square-1″ style=”fancy”]

image host image host


If you encounter broken links or other problem about this publication, please let me know
and write your comment below. I will reply and fix as soon as possible.