Diana Krall – The Girl In The Other Room (2004) [Hi-Res SACD Rip]

Diana Krall - The Girl In The Other Room (2004) [Hi-Res SACD Rip]

Diana Krall – The Girl In The Other Room (2004) [Hi-Res SACD Rip]
SACD Rip | ISO @1bit/2.8224MHz, DSD64 | FLAC Tracks @24bit/88.2kHz | Stereo & Multichannel | Full Scans Included
Total Size: 3.61 GB (ISO) + 2.72 GB (FLAC Multichannel) + 1.07 GB (FLAC Stereo) | 3% RAR Recovery
Label: Verve | EU | Cat#: 0602498620465 | Genre: Vocal Jazz

While the jazz fascists (read: purists) may be screaming “sellout” because Diana Krall decided to record something other than standards this time out, the rest of us can enjoy the considerable fruit of her labors. The Girl in the Other Room is, without question, a jazz record in the same manner her other outings are. The fact that it isn’t made up of musty and dusty “classics” may irk the narrow-minded and reactionary, but it doesn’t change the fact that this bold recording is a jazz record made with care, creativity, and a wonderfully intimate aesthetic fueling its 12 songs. Produced by Tommy LiPuma and Krall, the non-original material ranges from the Mississippi-fueled jazzed-up blues of Mose Allison’s “Stop This World” to contemporary songs that are reinvented in Krall’s image by Tom Waits (“Temptation”), Joni Mitchell (“Black Crow”), Chris Smither (“Love Me Like a Man”), and her husband, Elvis Costello (“Almost Blue”). These covers are striking. Krall’s read of Allison’s tune rivals his and adds an entirely different shade of meaning, as does her swinging, jazzy, R&B-infused take on Smither’s sexy nugget via its first hitmaker, Bonnie Raitt. Her interpretation of Waits’ “Temptation” is far more sultry than Holly Cole’s because Krall understands this pop song to be a jazz tune rather than a jazzy pop song. “Black Crow” exists in its own space in the terrain of the album, because Krall understands that jazz is not mere articulation but interpretation. Likewise, her reverent version of Costello’s “Almost Blue” takes it out of its original countrypolitan setting and brings it back to the blues.― Allmusic

01. Stop This World – 04:13
02. The Girl In The Other Room – 04:05
03. Temptation – 04:30
04. Almost Blue – 04:05
05. I’ve Changed My Address – 04:47
06. Love Me Like A Man – 05:51
07. I’m Pulling Through – 04:03
08. Black Crow – 04:57
09. Narrow Daylight – 03:32
10. Abandoned Masquerade – 05:12
11. I’m Coming Through – 05:07
12. Departure Bay – 05:40



If you encounter broken links or other problem about this publication, please let me know and write your comment below. I will reply and fix as soon as possible.