Sarah Vaughan – Sarah Vaughan (1954) [2003, Remastered, Hi-Res SACD Rip]

Sarah Vaughan - Sarah Vaughan (1954) [2003, Remastered, Hi-Res SACD Rip]

Sarah Vaughan – Sarah Vaughan (1954) [2003, Remastered, Hi-Res SACD Rip]
SACD Rip | ISO / DSD / 1bit / 2.8224MHz | FLAC Tracks / 24bit / 88.2kHz
Single Layer SACD | Full Scans Included
Total Size: 2.01. GB (ISO) + 887 MB (FLAC) | 3% RAR Recovery
Label: Verve Records | USA | Cat#: B000127-06 IN02 | Genre: Vocal Jazz

This 1954 studio date, a self-titled album recorded for Emarcy, was later reissued as Sarah Vaughan with Clifford Brown to denote the involvement of one of the top trumpeters of the day. Vaughan sings nine intimate standards with a band including Brown on trumpet, Herbie Mann on flute, and Paul Quinichette on tenor, each of which have plenty of space for solos (most of the songs are close to the five-minute mark) Vaughan is arguably in the best voice of her career here, pausing and lingering over notes on the standards “April in Paris,” “Jim,” and “Lullaby of Birdland.” As touching as Vaughan is, however, Brown almost equals her with his solos on “Lullaby of Birdland,” “Jim,” and “September Song,” displaying his incredible bop virtuosity in a restrained setting without sacrificing either the simple feeling of his notes or the extraordinary flair of his choices. Quinichette’s solos are magnificent as well, his feathery tone nearly a perfect match for Vaughan’s voice. Ironically though, neither Brown nor Quinichette or Mann appear on the album’s highlight, “Embraceable You,” which Vaughan performs with close accompaniment from the rhythm section: Jimmy Jones on piano, Joe Benjamin on bass, and Roy Haynes on drums. Vaughan rounds the notes with a smile and even when she’s steeping to reach a few low notes, she never loses the tremendous feeling conveyed by her voice. In whichever incarnation it’s reissued, Sarah Vaughan With Clifford Brown is one of the most important jazz-meets-vocal sessions ever recorded. ― Allmusic

01. Lullaby Of Birdland – 04:01
02. April In Paris – 06:20
03. He’s My Guy – 04:11
04. Jim – 05:50
05. You’re Not The Kind – 04:43
06. Embraceable You – 04:51
07. I’m Glad There Is You – 05:10
08. September Song – 05:45
09. It’s Crazy – 04:55
10. Lullaby Of Birdland (Alternate Take) – 03:59




If you encounter broken links or other problem about this publication, please let me know and write your comment below. I will reply and fix as soon as possible.