War – Platinum Jazz (1976) [1995, Remastered]

War - Platinum Jazz (1976) [1995, Remastered]

War – Platinum Jazz (1976) [1995, Remastered]
EAC Rip | FLAC Tracks + Cue + Log | Full Scans Included
Total Size: 474 MB | 3% RAR Recovery
Label: Avenue | US | Cat#: ASR 10606-2 | Genre: Jazz, Funk, Latin Jazz

An often overlooked and underrated part of War’s legacy was their instrumentals, many of which were quite imaginative. War’s members loved jazz, and they expressed that passion not because they had any illusions of trying to compete with Miles Davis or Joe Henderson, but simply for the enjoyment of it. Released as a two-LP set, Platinum Jazz gathered War’s previously released instrumentals (plus one vocal, “Deliver the Word”) with fine results. Jazz fusion material ranging from the unpredictable “City, Country, City” (arguably the band’s best instrumental ever, and certainly their best known) and the salsa-influenced “Nappy Head” to the mellow “H2Overture” and the congenial “Smile Happy” show just how effective War’s members could be without vocals. And when saxman Charles Miller and keyboardist Lonnie Jordan stretch out, it’s clear that as improvisers, they weren’t half bad. ― By Allmusic

01. War Is Coming, War Is Coming – 07:06
02. Slowly We Walk Together – 05:56
03. Platinum Jazz – 07:13
04. I Got You – 06:05
05. L.A. Sunshine – 09:56
06. River Niger – 08:42
07. H2 Overture – 04:01
08. City, Country, City – 07:25
09. Smile Happy – 04:02
10. Deliver The Word – 05:56
11. Nappy Head – 04:09
12. Four Cornered Room – 07:15




If you encounter broken links or other problem about this publication, please let me know and write your comment below. I will reply and fix as soon as possible.