The B-52s – Cosmic Thing (1989) [2010, Audio Fidelity, HDCD Remastered]

The B-52s - Cosmic Thing (1989) [2010, Audio Fidelity, HDCD Remastered]

The B-52s – Cosmic Thing (1989) [2010, Audio Fidelity, HDCD Remastered]
EAC Rip | FLAC Image + Cue + Log | Full Scans Included
Total Size: 348 MB | 3% RAR Recovery
Label: Audio Fidelity | USA | Cat#: AFZ 077| Genre: New Wave, Pop Rock

Many observers were prepared to write off the B-52’s after the release of Bouncing Off the Satellites. Granted, the album was completed in the wake of Ricky Wilson’s death, but the group appeared bereft of new musical ideas and were sounding rather stale. In other words, the last thing anyone expected was a first-class return to form, which is what they got with Cosmic Thing. Working with producers Don Was and Nile Rodgers, the B-52’s updated their sound with shiny new surfaces and deep, funky grooves — it was the same basic pattern as before, only refurbished and contemporized. Just as importantly, they had their best set of songs since at least Wild Planet, possibly since their debut. “Cosmic Thing” and “Channel Z” were great up-tempo rockers; “Roam” had a groovy beat blessed with a great Cindy Wilson vocal; and “Deadbeat Club” was one of their rare successful reflective numbers. Then there was “Love Shack,” an irresistible dance number with delightfully silly lyrics and hooks as big as a whale that unbelievably gave the group a long-awaited Top Ten hit. The thing is, Cosmic Thing would already have been considered a triumphant return without its commercial success. The big sales were just the icing on the cake. ― Allmusic

01. Cosmic Thing – 03:52
02. Dry County – 04:54
03. Deadbeat Club – 04:56
04. Love Shack – 05:21
05. Junebug – 05:07
06. Roam – 04:54
07. Bushfire – 04:57
08. Channel Z – 04:49
09. Topaz – 04:20
10. Follow Your Bliss – 04:09




If you encounter broken links or other problem about this publication, please let me know and write your comment below. I will reply and fix as soon as possible.