Julie Grant – Come to me: The Pye Anthology (2004)

Julie Grant - Come to me: The Pye Anthology (2004)

Julie Grant – Come to me: The Pye Anthology (2004)
EAC Rip | FLAC Tracks + Cue + Log | Full Scans Included
Total Size: 443 MB
Label: Castle Music | UK | Cat#: CMRCD 1051 | Genre: Pop, Oldie

Several of the British female vocalists associated with the ’60s pop/rock scene were, in reality, probably more comfortable with the role of all-around entertainer, at equal or greater ease emulating MOR nightclub belters as American girl group sounds. You could put Cilla Black or Petula Clark in that category, along with a good deal of other less-successful peers of the time who may have had a minor hit or two, and helped fill out the numerous British pop package tours of the mid-’60s. Julie Grant was one of those figures, landing some minor U.K. hits between 1963 and 1965 with “Count on Me,” “Up on the Roof,” and “Come to Me.” Undoubtedly she had a strong, versatile voice, applying it to orchestrated ballads, pseudo-Merseybeat, American girl group covers, renditions of songs by the Drifters and the Moody Blues, and more. Versatility can be a hindrance when you don’t corral in killer material, though, and listening to her many singles today, one is not struck so much by her talent as her inability to carve out out a recognizable stylistic niche. Pye Records certainly gave her a lot of opportunities; she recorded no less than 15 singles for the label between 1962 and 1965. But she may have sealed her fate when she passed on an opportunity to record a Tony Hatch composition, “Downtown,” that Petula Clark made into one of the biggest records of 1965. Still shy of her 20th birthday, Grant’s recording career came to an end after 1965, leaving her to concentrate on building a livelihood as a singer at hotels, resorts, cruise ships, and the like. ― Allmusic

01. Somebody Tell Him – 02:32
02. Ev’ry Letter You Write – 01:59
03. So Many Ways – 01:56
04. Unimportant Things – 02:34
05. When You’re Smiling – 01:57
06. Lonely Sixteen – 02:01
07. Up On The Roof – 02:17
08. When You Ask About Love – 02:01
09. Count On Me – 02:16
10. Then, Only Then – 02:19
11. That’s How Heartaches Are Made – 02:31
12. Cruel World – 02:39
13. Don’t Ever Let Me Down – 02:11
14. Somebody Cares – 02:05
15. Hello Love – 02:12
16. It’s Alright – 01:45
17. Every Day I Have To Cry – 02:27
18. Watch What You Do With My Baby – 02:18
19. You’re Nobody Till Somebody Loves You – 02:15
20. I Only Care About You – 02:26
21. Come To Me – 02:43
22. Can’t Get You Out Of My Mind – 01:55
23. Baby Baby (I Still Love You) – 02:41
24. My World Is Empty (Without You) – 02:53
25. Giving Up – 02:45
26. Cause I Believe In You – 01:55
27. Lonely Without You – 02:21
28. As Long As I Know He’s Mine – 02:32
29. Stop – 02:23
30. When The Loving Ends – 02:15




If you encounter broken links or other problem about this publication, please let me know and write your comment below. I will reply and fix as soon as possible.