Paul Stanley’s Soul Station – Now And Then (2021) [Japan]

Paul Stanley's Soul Station - Now And Then (2021) [Japan]

Paul Stanley’s Soul Station – Now And Then (2021) [Japan]
EAC Rip | FLAC Image + Cue + Log | Full Scans Included
Total Size: 361 MB | 3% RAR Recovery
Label: Universal | Japan | Cat#: UICY-15975 | Genre: Funk, Soul

Famous rock stars paying homage to a genre that inspired them is nothing new, though more often than not, these vanity projects manifest themselves in the form of well-meant but heavy-handed Americana “roots” collaborations or the inevitable jazz standards record. As the frontman for Kiss, Paul Stanley has made a lasting impact on rock & roll, marshalling one of the industry’s most die-hard fan bases, the Kiss Army, well into its fifth decade of obsession. While Stanley-penned classics like “Lick It Up” and “Hotter Than Hell” are far from subtle, his voice has always been a particularly nuanced instrument with more range than Kiss’ music usually allowed. Before donning the face paint and frightening generations of parents as the Starchild, Stanley was just another 1960s New York teenager listening to Otis Redding, Philly soul, and Motown hits on the radio. On Now and Then, his first release fronting Paul Stanley’s Soul Station, he honors that particular era of R&B and soul, offering up vivid renditions of much-loved classics as well as five originals written in the same vein. Unmasked and guitarless in front of a nimble 15-piece band, his takes on evergreen hits like Smokey Robinson’s “The Tracks of My Tears” and the Five Stairsteps’ “O-o-h Child” are decidedly faithful, coming across as affectionate tributes rather than self-serving showpieces. Wielding his warm falsetto with ease, Stanley gamely tackles the Temptations’ enduringly sweet “Just My Imagination (Running Away with Me),” sounding nothing like the hard rock god of “Love Gun” or “Detroit Rock City” fame. Dappled with horns, strings, backing singers, and a robust rhythm section, Soul Station’s arrangements are elegant and lively, pumping up the energy when needed without going over the top. A record like this could have easily gone south, but Stanley’s love for these songs is quite apparent, making Now and Then a surprisingly pleasing listen. ― Allmusic

01. Could It Be I’m Falling in Love – 04:01
02. I Do – 03:11
03. I, Oh I – 03:17
04. Ooo Baby Baby – 03:07
05. O-O-H Child – 03:42
06. Save Me (From You) – 03:31
07. Just My Imagination (Running Away With Me) – 03:55
08. Whenever You’re Ready (I’m Here) – 03:04
09. The Tracks of My Tears – 03:03
10. Let’s Stay Together – 03:48
11. La-La – Means I Love You – 04:00
12. Lorelei – 03:09
13. You Are Everything – 03:47
14. Baby I Need Your Loving – 03:05




If you encounter broken links or other problem about this publication, please let me know and write your comment below. I will reply and fix as soon as possible.