Steamhammer – MK II (1969) [2010, Japan, Remastered]

Steamhammer - MK II (1969) [2010, Japan, Remastered]

Steamhammer – MK II (1969) [2010, Japan, Remastered]
EAC Rip | FLAC Image + Cue + Log | Full Scans Included
Total Size: 487 MB
Label: Air Mail Archive | Japan | Cat#: AIRAC-1566 | Genre: Blues Rock

The second version of the British combo Steamhammer released its first LP utilizing the talents of Steve Davy (bass), Martin Pugh (guitars), and Kieran White (vocals/guitar/harmonica/Jew’s harp) from the original band as well as new recruits Steve Jolliffe (woodwind/brass/harpsichord/vocals) and Mick Bradley (drums). It was the blues that initially drove the combo on its debut long-player, Reflection (1969), likewise known as Junior’s Wailing. This lineup adds more exploratory and intricate melodies, courtesy of the multi-instrumental talents and sonic sculpting of future Tangerine Dream member Jolliffe. While this version of the band would not remain past this album, its unique fusion would arguably peak on Mountains (1970), the follow-up to MK II (1969). There are definite shapes of things to come throughout this effort, thanks to the aggressive interaction of the new recruits. They immediately step up to the plate, providing a variety of interesting melodic and instrumental textures. These range from the full-speed gallop of Jolliffe’s “Johnny Carl Morton” or the Baroque waltz “Turn Around” — both of which are punctuated by some prominent harpsichord interjections reminiscent of other U.K. progressive groups such as Family and Blossom Toes. ― Allmusic

01. Supposed To Be Free – 05:56
02. Johnny Carl Morton – 04:35
03. Sunset Chase – 01:39
04. Contemporary Chick Con Song – 04:52
05. Turn Around – 03:32
06. 6/8 For Amiran – 03:00
07. Passing Through – 05:03
08. Down Along The Grove – 00:41
09. Another Travelling Time – 16:07
10. Fran & Dee Take A Ride – 03:16
11. Autumn Song – 04:04
12. Blues For Passing People – 06:26




If you encounter broken links or other problem about this publication, please let me know and write your comment below. I will reply and fix as soon as possible.