The Band – Rock Of Ages: The Band In Concert (1972) [2010, MFSL Remastered, CD-Layer + Hi-Res SACD Rip]

The Band - Rock Of Ages: The Band In Concert (1972) [2010, MFSL Remastered, CD-Layer + Hi-Res SACD Rip]

The Band – Rock Of Ages: The Band In Concert (1972)
[2010, MFSL Remastered, CD-Layer + Hi-Res SACD Rip]

SACD-ISO / DSD / 1bit / 2.8224MHz
DSF Tracks / DSD / 1bit / 2.8224MHz
FLAC Tracks / 24bit / 88.2kHz
CD-Layer / EAC Rip / FLAC Image + Cue + Log
Full Scans Included
Total Size: 705 MB (CD-Layer) + 2.17 GB (DSF) + 1.49 GB (FLAC) + 3.19 GB (ISO)
Label: Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab | US | Cat#: UDSACD 2046 | Genre: Country Rock, Classic Rock
Update: CD-Layer & DSF Tracks have been added

Released on the heels of the stilted, static Cahoots, the double-album Rock of Ages occupies a curious yet important place in Band history. Recorded at a spectacular New Years Eve 1971 gig, the show and album were intended to be a farewell of sorts before the Band took an extended break in 1972, but it turned out to be a last hurrah in many different ways, closing the chapter on the first stage of their career, when they were among the biggest and most important rock & roll bands. That sense of importance had started to creep into their music, turning their studio albums after The Band into self-conscious affairs, and even the wildly acclaimed first two albums seemed to float out of time, existing in a sphere of their own and never having the kick of a rock & roll band. Rock of Ages has that kick in spades, and it captures that road warrior side of the band that was yet unheard on record. Since this band — or more accurately its leader, Robbie Robertson — was acutely aware of image and myth, this record didn’t merely capture an everyday gig, it captured a spectacular, in retrospect almost a dry run for the legendary Last Waltz. New Orleans R&B legend Allen Toussaint was hired to write horn charts and conduct them, helping to open up the familiar tunes, which in turn helped turn this music into a warm, loose, big-hearted party. And that’s what’s so splendid about Rock of Ages: sure, the tightness of the Band as a performing unit is on display, but there’s also a wild, rowdy heart pumping away in the backbeat of this music, something that the otherwise superb studio albums do not have. Simply put, this is a joy to hear, which may have been especially true after the dour, messy Cahoots, but even stripped of that context Rock of Ages has a spirit quite unlike any other Band album. Indeed, it could be argued that it captured the spirit of the Band at the time in a way none of their other albums do. ― Allmusic

01. Don’t Do It – 06:18
02. King Harvest (Has Surely Come) – 04:02
03. Caledonia Mission – 03:36
04. Get Up Jake – 03:31
05. The W.S. Walcott Medicine Show – 03:51
06. Stage Fright – 04:35
07. The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down – 04:32
08. Across the Great Divide – 03:56
09. This Wheel’s On Fire – 04:05
10. Rag Mama Rag – 04:31
11. The Weight – 05:29
12. The Shape I’m In – 04:12
13. Unfaithful Servant – 04:45
14. Life Is A Carnival – 04:14
15. The Genetic Method – 07:43
16. Chest Fever – 05:21
17. (I Don’t Want To) Hang Up My Rock and Roll Shoes – 04:20





If you encounter broken links or other problem about this publication, please let me know and write your comment below. I will reply and fix as soon as possible.