Billy Joel – An Innocent Man (1983) [2013, Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Billy Joel - An Innocent Man (1983) [2013, Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Billy Joel – An Innocent Man (1983) [2013, Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]
Official Digital Download | FLAC Tracks @ 24bit/96kHz | PDF Booklet
FLAC: 954 MB | 3% RAR Recovery
Label: Columbia / Legacy | Lenght: 40:42 | Genre: Pop Rock

Recording The Nylon Curtain exhausted Billy Joel, and even though it had a pair of major hits, it didn’t rival its predecessors in terms of sales. Since he labored so hard at the record, he decided it was time for a break — it was time to record an album just for fun. And that’s how his homage to pre-Beatles pop, An Innocent Man, was conceived: it was designed as a breezy romp through the music of his childhood. Joel’s grasp on history isn’t remarkably astute — the opener “Easy Money” is a slice of Stax/Volt pop-soul, via the Blues Brothers (quite possibly the inspiration for the album), and the label didn’t break the pop charts until well after the British Invasion — but he’s in top form as a craftsman throughout the record. Only once does he stumble on his own ambition (“This Night,” which appropriates its chorus from Beethoven). For the rest of the record, he’s effortlessly spinning out infectious, memorable melodies in a variety of styles, from the Four Seasons send-up “Uptown Girl” and the soulful “Tell Her About It” to a pair of doo wop tributes, “The Longest Time” and “Careless Talk.” Joel has rarely sounded so carefree either in performance or writing, possibly due to “Christie Lee” Brinkley, a supermodel who became his new love prior to An Innocent Man. He can’t stop writing about her throughout the album — only three songs, including the haunted title track, aren’t about her in some form or fashion. That giddiness is infectious, helping make An Innocent Man an innocent delight that unwittingly closes Joel’s classic period.

Personnel / Credits:
• Billy Joel – Baldwin acoustic piano (SF-10), Fender Rhodes, Hammond B3 organ, lead & background vocals
• Liberty DeVitto – drums
• Doug Stegmeyer – bass guitar
• David Brown – lead electric & acoustic guitars
• Russell Javors – rhythm electric & acoustic gutars
• Mark Rivera – alto saxophone, tenor saxophone, percussion
• Ralph MacDonald – percussion on “Leave a Tender Moment Alone” and “Careless Talk”
• Leon Pendarvis – Hammond B3 organ on “Easy Money”
• Richard Tee – acoustic piano on “Tell Her About It”
• Eric Gale – electric guitar on “Easy Money”
• “String Fever” – strings
• Ronnie Cuber – baritone saxophone on “Easy Money”, “Careless Talk”, “Tell Her About It” and “Keeping the Faith”
• Jon Faddis – trumpet on “Easy Money”
• David Sanborn – alto saxophone on “Easy Money”
• Joe Shepley – trumpet on “Easy Money”, “Careless Talk”, “Tell Her About It” and “Keeping the Faith”
• Michael Brecker – tenor saxophone on “Careless Talk”, “Tell Her About It” and “Keeping the Faith”
• John Gatchell – trumpet on “Careless Talk”, “Tell Her About It” and “Keeping the Faith”
• Tom Bahler – background vocals
• Rory Dodd – background vocals
• Frank Floyd – background vocals
• Lani Groves – background vocals
• Ullanda McCullough – background vocals
• Ron Taylor – background vocals
• Terry Textor – background vocals
• Eric Troyer – background vocals
• Mike Alexander – background vocals
• “Toots” Thielemans – harmonica on “Leave a Tender Moment Alone”
• Mark Rivera – alto saxophone on “Keeping the Faith”, “This Night” and “Christie Lee”

Additional Info:
• Source:
• Recorded Date: Chelsea Sound and A&R Recording, Inc., New York, NY Spring, 1983
• Original Released Date: August 8, 1983
• Remastered Released Date: 2013
• Producer: Phil Ramone
• Review by: Allmusic

01. Easy Money – 04:05
02. An Innocent Man – 05:22
03. The Longest Time – 03:44
04. This Night – 04:19
05. Tell Her About It – 03:51
06. Uptown Girl – 03:18
07. Careless Talk – 03:50
08. Christie Lee – 03:33
09. Leave A Tender Moment Alone – 03:58
10. Keeping The Faith – 04:40

[su_spoiler title=”Dynamic Range Report” icon=”plus-square-1″ style=”fancy”]
foobar2000 1.3.7 / Dynamic Range Meter 1.1.1
log date: 2015-03-05 06:38:51

Analyzed: Billy Joel / An Innocent Man

DR Peak RMS Duration Track
DR8 -0.25 dB -9.16 dB 4:05 01-Easy Money
DR8 -0.25 dB -10.82 dB 5:22 02-An Innocent Man
DR8 -0.25 dB -9.81 dB 3:44 03-The Longest Time
DR8 -0.25 dB -10.50 dB 4:19 04-This Night
DR8 -0.25 dB -9.04 dB 3:51 05-Tell Her About It
DR7 -0.25 dB -8.29 dB 3:18 06-Uptown Girl
DR9 -0.25 dB -10.43 dB 3:50 07-Careless Talk
DR8 -0.25 dB -9.40 dB 3:33 08-Christie Lee
DR8 -0.25 dB -10.46 dB 3:58 09-Leave A Tender Moment Alone
DR9 -0.25 dB -10.81 dB 4:40 10-Keeping The Faith

Number of tracks: 10
Official DR value: DR8

Samplerate: 96000 Hz
Channels: 2
Bits per sample: 24
Bitrate: 3098 kbps
Codec: FLAC


Download From
All links are interchangeable!!!
If you encounter broken links or other problem about this publication, please let me know
and write your comment below. I will reply and fix as soon as possible.