Steely Dan – Can’t Buy A Thrill (1972) [2000, Remastered, CD-Quality + Hi-Res Vinyl Rip]

Steely Dan - Can't Buy A Thrill (1972) [2000, Remastered, CD-Quality + Hi-Res Vinyl Rip]

Steely Dan – Can’t Buy A Thrill (1972) [2000, Remastered, CD-Quality + Hi-Res Vinyl Rip]
Vinyl Rip | Hi-Res / FLAC Tracks / 24bit / 96kHz & 192kHz | CD-Quality / FLAC Tracks / 16bit / 44.1kHz
Full Scans Included
Total Size: 3.26 GB (Hi-Res) + 637 MB (CD-Quality) | 3% RAR Recovery
Label: Speakers Corner Records | Germany | Cat#: ABCX 758 | Genre: Pop Rock, Jazz Rock

Walter Becker and Donald Fagen were remarkable craftsmen from the start, as Steely Dan’s debut, Can’t Buy a Thrill, illustrates. Each song is tightly constructed, with interlocking chords and gracefully interwoven melodies, buoyed by clever, cryptic lyrics. All of these are hallmarks of Steely Dan’s signature sound, but what is most remarkable about the record is the way it differs from their later albums. Of course, one of the most notable differences is the presence of vocalist David Palmer, a professional blue-eyed soul vocalist who oversings the handful of tracks where he takes the lead. Palmer’s very presence signals the one major flaw with the album — in an attempt to appeal to a wide audience, Becker and Fagen tempered their wildest impulses with mainstream pop techniques. Consequently, there are very few of the jazz flourishes that came to distinguish their albums — the breakthrough single, “Do It Again,” does work an impressively tight Latin jazz beat, and “Reelin’ in the Years” has jazzy guitar solos and harmonies — and the production is overly polished, conforming to all the conventions of early-’70s radio. Of course, that gives these decidedly twisted songs a subversive edge, but compositionally, these aren’t as innovative as their later work. Even so, the best moments (“Dirty Work,” “Kings,” “Midnight Cruiser,” “Turn That Heartbeat Over Again”) are wonderful pop songs that subvert traditional conventions and more than foreshadow the paths Steely Dan would later take. ― Allmusic

01. Do It Again – 05:56
02. Dirty Work – 03:10
03. Kings – 03:47
04. Midnite Cruiser – 04:12
05. Only A Fool Would Say That – 03:00
06. Reelin’ In The Years – 04:37
07. Fire In The Hole – 03:30
07. Fire In The Hole – 03:29
08. Brooklyn – 04:21
09. Change Of The Guard – 03:39
10. Turn That Heartbeat Over Again – 05:01




If you encounter broken links or other problem about this publication, please let me know and write your comment below. I will reply and fix as soon as possible.