The Byrds – The Notorious Byrd Brothers (1968) {2006, MFSL Remastered, CD-Layer & Hi-Res SACD Rip}

The Byrds - The Notorious Byrd Brothers (1968) {2006, MFSL Remastered, CD-Layer & Hi-Res SACD Rip}

The Byrds – The Notorious Byrd Brothers (1968) {2006, MFSL Remastered, CD-Layer & Hi-Res SACD Rip}
EAC Rip | FLAC Image + Cue + Log | Full Scans Included
PS3 SACD Rip | ISO @1bit/2.8224MHz, DSD64 | FLAC Tracks @24bit/88.2kHz
Total Size: 382 MB (CD-Layer) + 2.35 GB (SACD ISO) + 885 MB (SACD FLAC) | 3% RAR Recovery
Label: MFSL UltraDisc UHR | USA | Cat#: UDSACD 2015 | Genre: Psychedelic Rock

The recording sessions for the Byrds’ fifth album, The Notorious Byrd Brothers, were conducted in the midst of internal turmoil that found them reduced to a duo by the time the record was completed. That wasn’t evident from listening to the results, which showed the group continuing to expand the parameters of their eclecticism while retaining their hallmark guitar jangle and harmonies. With assistance from producer Gary Usher, they took more chances in the studio, enhancing the spacy quality of tracks like “Natural Harmony” and Goffin & King’s “Wasn’t Born to Follow” with electronic phasing. Washes of Moog synthesizer formed the eerie backdrop for “Space Odyssey,” and the songs were craftily and unobtrusively linked with segues and fades. But the Byrds did not bury the essential strengths of their tunes in effects: “Goin’ Back” (also written by Goffin & King) was a magnificent and melodic cover with the expected tasteful 12-string guitar runs that should have been a big hit. “Tribal Gathering” has some of the band’s most effervescent harmonies; “Draft Morning” is a subtle and effective reflection of the horrors of the Vietnam War; and “Old John Robertson” looks forward to the country-rock that would soon dominate their repertoire. — Allmusic

Additional Info:
• Recorded Date: June 21 – December 6, 1967, Columbia Studios, Hollywood, CA
• Original Released Date: January 15, 1968
• MFSL Released Date: 2006
• Producer: Gary Usher
More info

01. Artificial Energy – 02:19
02. Goin’ Back – 03:22
03. Natural Harmony – 02:16
04. Draft Morning – 02:35
05. Wasn’t Born To Follow – 02:02
06. Get To You – 02:40
07. Change Is Now – 03:21
08. Old John Robertson – 01:49
09. Tribal Gathering – 02:06
10. Dolphin’s Smile – 02:03
11. Space Odyssey – 04:04
Bonus Tracks
12. Moog Raga (Instrumental) – 03:27
13. Bound To Fall (Instrumental) – 02:11
14. Triad – 03:31
15. Goin’ Back (Version One) – 03:58
16. Draft Morning (Alternate End) – 02:58
17. Universal Mind Decoder (Instrumental) – 13:45

* Tracks 1-11 MONO
* Tracks 12-17 STEREO

[su_spoiler title=”CD-Layer Logs” icon=”plus-square-1″ style=”fancy”]
[su_spoiler title=”Dynamic Range Report” icon=”plus-square-1″ style=”fancy”]
SACD FLAC[/su_spoiler]
[su_spoiler title=”Back & Label Preview” icon=”plus-square-1″ style=”fancy”]


HiRes SACD Rip
If you encounter broken links or other problem about this publication, please let me know
and write your comment below. I will reply and fix as soon as possible.