Erich Kunzel / Cincinnati Pops Orchestra – Vintage Cinema (2008) [Hi-Res SACD Rip]

Erich Kunzel / Cincinnati Pops Orchestra - Vintage Cinema (2008) [Hi-Res SACD Rip]

Erich Kunzel / Cincinnati Pops Orchestra – Vintage Cinema (2008) [Hi-Res SACD Rip]
SACD-ISO / DSD / 1bit / 2.8224MHz
DSF-Tracks / DSD / 1bit / 2.8224MHz
FLAC Tracks / 24bit / 88.2kHz
Stereo & Multichannel | Basic Scans Included
Total Size: 8.54 GB (DSF) + 3.16 GB (FLAC) + 3.25 GB (ISO) | 3% RAR Recovery
Label: Telarc | US | Cat#: SACD-60708 | Genre: Soundtrack, Score & Classical

Telarc’s Vintage Cinema, featuring Erich Kunzel and the Cincinnati Pops Orchestra, is a survey of classic film score music from the period commonly recognized as the finest for film music, stretching from Max Steiner’s groundbreaking score for King Kong (1933) to Franz Waxman’s valedictory Taras Bulba (1962). It is a very fast moving program; with Miklós Rózsa’s Spellbound segment being the longest excerpt at just over seven minutes and most others coming in at about three to five minutes. For that, it does not sound at all patchwork, but has a superb sense of flow and forward direction. It is a carefully conceived compilation and contains at least something from each major Hollywood film composer, though one could argue that the inclusion of Aaron Copland and Leonard Bernstein in this canon is stretching it a bit; On the Waterfront is Bernstein’s only contribution to classic film music, and both composers are better known for other things. However, these segments still fit well into the overall concept, which emphasizes strong thematic ideas over dramatic scoring; Bernard Herrmann’s Psycho is not included, nor is Waxman’s The Bride of Frankenstein, the latter being the only essential piece that is not covered within the necessarily limited scope of this disc. ― Allmusic

01. Main Title And Entrance Of Kong From King Kong – 03:04
02. Robin Hood And His Merry Men From The Adventures Of Robin Hood – 03:57
03. Suite From Spellbound – 07:16
04. Selections From The Red Pony – 03:41
05. Suite From Sunset Boulevard – 04:36
06. Suite From A Streetcar Named Desire – 06:05
07. Suite From A Place In The Sun – 04:56
08. Selections From On The Waterfront – 04:56
09. Overture From North By Northwest – 02:39
10. Overture From El Cid – 03:22
11. Main Title From To Kill A Mockingbird – 03:00
12. The Ride Of The Cossacks From Taras Bulba – 04:57




If you encounter broken links or other problem about this publication, please let me know and write your comment below. I will reply and fix as soon as possible.