Los Lobos – This Time (1999) {2004, MFSL Remastered, CD-Layer & Hi-Res SACD Rip}

Los Lobos - This Time (1999) {2004, MFSL Remastered, CD-Layer & Hi-Res SACD Rip}

Los Lobos – This Time (1999) {2004, MFSL Remastered, CD-Layer & Hi-Res SACD Rip}
EAC Rip | FLAC Image + Cue + Log | Full Scans Included
PS3 SACD Rip | ISO @1bit/2.8224MHz, DSD64 | FLAC Tracks @24bit/88.2kHz
Total Size: 250 MB (CD-Layer) + 1.55 GB (SACD ISO) + 792 MB (SACD FLAC) | 3% RAR Recovery
Label: MFSL UltraDisc UHR | USA | Cat#: UDSACD 2024 | Genre: Latin Rock

Given all the extracurricular projects members of Los Lobos pursued during the three years separating Colossal Head and its followup, it’s not surprising that they’ve decided to show off what they’ve learned on This Time, resulting in a record that vacillates between songcraft and sonic sculptures. It could be said that Kiko and Colassal Head were like this as well, but the difference is that This Time has the structure of a straight-ahead rock & roll record, clocking in at 38 minutes with 11 short tracks. While that conciseness is welcome, it also points out the flaws in the post-Latin Playboys Los Lobos — Cesar Rosas’ fine rockers are obscured by a layer of studio gauze, and David Hidalgo’s songs can seem like excuses to run wild in the studio. If the production was truly evocative or innovative, that wouldn’t be a problem, but This Time is another in a long line of murky, self-conscious productions from Froom, Blake, and Hidalgo, where creating sound is more important than making music. This is especially frustrating, since This Time has elements of a very good record — it’s paced well and boasts strong moments from both Hidalgo (“This Time,” “Turn Around”) and Rosas (“Oh Yeah,” “Cumbia Raza”). As it stands, it is Los Lobos’ tightest record since The Neighborhood, but it’s hard not to feel that it could have been better if Los Lobos saved the “explorations” for their side-projects. ― Allmusic

Additional Info:
• Original Released Date: July 20, 1999
• Released Date: 2004 by MFSL
More info

01. This Time – 03:31
02. Oh, Yeah – 03:43
03. Viking – 03:29
04. High Places – 04:22
05. Cumbia Raza – 02:46
06. Runaway With You – 03:05
07. Corazon – 04:07
08. Some Say Some Do – 03:08
09. Turn Around – 03:46
10. La Playa – 03:11
11. Why We Wish – 02:55

CD-Layer Logs
Dynamic Range Report
Back & Label Preview

HiRes SACD Rip
Password: www.LosslessMA.net
If you encounter broken links or other problem about this publication, please let me know
and write your comment below. I will reply and fix as soon as possible.