Paquito D’Rivera – Portraits Of Cuba (1996) [2005, Remastered, Hi-Res SACD Rip]

Paquito D'Rivera - Portraits Of Cuba (1996) [2005, Remastered, Hi-Res SACD Rip]

Paquito D’Rivera – Portraits Of Cuba (1996) [2005, Remastered, Hi-Res SACD Rip]
SACD-ISO / DSD / 1bit / 2.8224MHz
DSF-Tracks / DSD / 1bit / 2.8224MHz
FLAC Tracks / 24bit / 88.2kHz
Stereo & Multichannel | Front & Back Covers
Total Size: 4.24 GB (DSF) + 3.19 GB (FLAC) + 2.70 GB (ISO)
Label: Chesky Records | Austria | Cat#: SACD298 | Genre: Jazz

Because Paquito D’Rivera is such a compelling improviser, one greets a heavily arranged and orchestrated session like Portraits of Cuba with some apprehension. But as it turns out, such apprehension is unwarranted, for the Cuban saxman/clarinetist still has enough room to solo and say what needs to be said. With this 1996 session, which was arranged and conducted by Carlos Franzetti and finds D’Rivera backed by combinations of up to 14 musicians, D’Rivera envisioned an Afro-Cuban equivalent of Miles Davis’ Sketches of Spain — and, to be sure, there are some parallels. Franzetti’s classical-influenced arrangements recall Gil Evans’ work with Davis, and D’Rivera paints an orchestral jazz picture of Cuba much as Davis painted an orchestral jazz picture of Spain. The key phrase here is “jazz picture” — D’Rivera approaches famous Cuban songs like Ignacio Pineiro’s “Echale Salsita” and Ernesto Lecuona’s “Como Arrullo de Palmas” from an instrumental jazz perspective; this is jazz with both Afro-Cuban and classical elements, but it’s jazz first and foremost. Recorded in New York around the time of the infamous Blizzard of 1996 — which dumped up to three feet of snow on parts of the Northeastern U.S. — Portraits of Cuba is among D’Rivera’s most essential recordings. ― Allmusic

01. La Bella Cubana [Jose White] – 05:14
02. The Peanut Vendor [M. sunshine, M. Simmons, W. Gilbert] – 04:38
03. Tu [Eduardo Sanchez De Fuentes] – 05:35
04. Tu Mi Delirio [Cesar Portillo De La Luz] – 06:31
05. No Te Importe Saber [Rene Touzet] – 05:42
06. Drume Negrita [Ernesto Grenet] – 04:18
07. Portraits Of Cuba [Paquito D’Rivera] – 05:04
08. Excerpt from ‘Aires Tropicales’ [Paquito D’Rivera] – 00:48
09. Mariana [Carlos Franzetti] – 05:30
10. Como Arrulo De Palmas [Ernesto Lecuona] – 03:22
11. Echale Salsita [Ignacio Pineiro] – 05:06
12. Song To My Son [Paquito D’Rivera] – 05:22
13. Theme from ‘I Love Lucy’ [E. Daniel, H. Adamson] – 03:25




If you encounter broken links or other problem about this publication, please let me know and write your comment below. I will reply and fix as soon as possible.