Rick Astley – Whenever You Need Somebody (1987)

Rick Astley - Whenever You Need Somebody (1987)

Rick Astley – Whenever You Need Somebody (1987)
EAC Rip | Tracks + Cue + Log | Scans Included
Total Size: 437 MB
Label: RCA / PWL| UK | Cat#: PD 71529 | Genre: Pop, Synth-Pop

In the ’80s and ’90s, England’s dance music team Stock, Aitken & Waterman was often accused of being too slick for its own good, and favoring style over substance. But the producers/songwriters (also known for their work with Dead or Alive and Samantha Fox) should definitely be proud of their work on fellow Briton Rick Astley’s often captivating debut album, Whenever You Need Somebody. While the high-tech production is very ’80s, Astley’s soul/pop/dance music approach is very much a production of the ’70s — sort of the Average White Band meets Philly soul/disco meets Tom Jones. The best dance music works both on and off the dancefloor, and this certainly holds true on such slick yet gritty fare as “Together Forever,” “Never Gonna Give You Up,” and “Don’t Say Goodbye.” There are a few weak moments — the lackluster “No More Looking for Love” being a glaring example — but overall, this CD proved Astley to be a welcome addition to the British R&B scene. ― Allmusic

01. Never Gonna Give You Up – 03:36
02. Whenever You Need Somebody – 03:57
03. Together Forever – 03:29
04. It Would Take a Strong Strong Man – 03:45
05. The Love Has Gone – 04:24
06. Don’t Say Goodbye – 04:12
07. Slipping Away – 03:56
08. No More Looking for Love – 03:16
09. You Move Me – 03:45
10. When I Fall in Love – 03:03




If you encounter broken links or other problem about this publication, please let me know and write your comment below. I will reply and fix as soon as possible.