Steely Dan – Two Against Nature (2000) [2021, Limited Edition, Reissue, CD-Quality + Hi-Res Vinyl Rip]

Steely Dan - Two Against Nature (2000) [2021, Limited Edition, Reissue, CD-Quality + Hi-Res Vinyl Rip]

Steely Dan – Two Against Nature (2000) [2021, Limited Edition, Reissue, CD-Quality + Hi-Res Vinyl Rip]
2x Vinyl Rip | Hi-Res / FLAC Tracks / 24bit / 96kHz & 192kHz | CD-Quality / FLAC Tracks / 16bit / 44.1kHz
Full Scans Included
Total Size: 3.48 GB (Hi-Res) + 595 MB (CD-Quality) | 3% RAR Recovery
Label: Giant Records | Germany | Cat#: 603497849093 | Genre: Pop Rock, Jazz-Rock

Notorious for shunning concert performances, Steely Dan’s improbable live reunion in the mid-’90s eventually turned into a full-fledged reunion album. Since Steely Dan fans went two decades without even the hope of a new record, the very prospect was a delight, but it was also a little worrying, since a botched comeback would tarnish the band’s legacy. Fortunately, Two Against Nature is as seductive and alluring as the best of Steely Dan’s later work, with a similar emphasis on classy atmosphere and groove. Pitched halfway between Gaucho and the immaculate production of Fagen’s solo album Kamakiriad, it’s a graceful, intricate record that works its subtle charms at its own pace. While that means it isn’t a knockout on the first listen, it’s a real grower — a quietly addicting album that slowly works its way into the subconscious. It’s also an uncannily natural extension of the duo’s previous work, but surprisingly, it never sounds nostalgic or dated. It’s clear that Becker and Fagen re-teamed because they simply enjoy working together: crafting the songs and arrangements, designing the production, shoehorning in-jokes into the lyrics, finding the exact performances that fit their specifications. In this sense, Two Against Nature is no different than any past Steely Dan effort; that’s exactly why it’s welcome, since they find nearly endless permutations within their signature sound. Lyrically, the album isn’t quite as malicious as their ’70s work, but they haven’t lost their sharp humor, even on some mere throwaway lines. The real payoff, however, is musical. Each song gradually reveals its own identity through small, thrilling touches, giving the record depth and character, and fitting it comfortably into Steely Dan’s acclaimed body of work. And that’s as delightfully unexpected and peculiarly beautiful as anything else in their career. ― Allmusic

Side 1
01. Gaslighting Abbie – 05:53
02. What A Shame About Me – 05:16
03. Two Against Nature – 06:18
Side 2
04. Janie Runaway – 04:08
05. Almost Gothic – 04:09
06. Jack Of Speed – 06:18
Side 3
07. Cousin Dupree – 05:27
08. Negative Girl – 05:34
09. West Of Hollywood – 08:21




If you encounter broken links or other problem about this publication, please let me know and write your comment below. I will reply and fix as soon as possible.