The Animals – Retrospective (2004) [CD-Layer + Hi-Res SACD Rip]

The Animals - Retrospective (2004) [CD-Layer + Hi-Res SACD Rip]

The Animals – Retrospective (2004) [CD-Layer + Hi-Res SACD Rip]
EAC Rip | FLAC Image + Cue + Log | Full Scans Included
SACD Rip | ISO @1bit/2.8224MHz, DSD64 | FLAC Tracks @24bit/88.2kHz
Total Size: 377 MB (CD-Layer) + 3.12 GB (SACD ISO) + 1.13 GB (SACD FLAC) | 3% RAR Recovery
Label: ABKCO | USA | Cat#: 93252 | Genre: Classic Rock, Psychedelic Rock

Initially, the Animals’ Retrospective looks like just another greatest-hits compilation recycling the same old tracks already easily available elsewhere. Yawn! Yet, on closer inspection, there’s a big difference with this particular set. These 22 tracks are taken from the ABKCO masters and utilize Direct Stream Digital (DSD), containing both CD and Super Audio CD layers. ABKCO initially previewed this technology with much fanfare on the Rolling Stones’ reissues of 2003. That excellence is again applied here and the material undeniably sparkles. The first incarnation of the band with Mickie Most’s production is represented by what have to be the cleanest recordings heard yet of favorites like “House of the Rising Sun,” “Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood,” “We Gotta Get Out of This Place,” and “Don’t Bring Me Down.” However, it’s the psychedelic phase of the band, when they became Eric Burdon & the Animals, that the DSD really kicks. Every nuance present, and sometimes hidden, on a song like “San Franciscan Nights,” or “Monterey,” in which the horns noticeably jump out at you, or the battle sequence on “Sky Pilot,” is incredibly vivid whether you’re using high-tech gear or an average playback unit. Even if you’ve heard these tracks a zillion times, this ABKCO release gets you as close to hearing studio playback as you’re likely to get! ― Allmusic

01. House Of The Rising Sun – 04:31
02. I’m Crying – 02:48
03. Baby Let Me Take You Home – 02:22
04. Gonna Send You Back To Walker – 02:30
05. Boom Boom – 03:19
06. Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood – 02:30
07. Bring It On Home To Me – 02:44
08. We Gotta Get Out Of This Place (US) – 03:16
09. It’s My Life – 03:08
10. Don’t Bring Me Down – 03:17
11. See See Rider – 04:01
12. Inside – Looking Out – 03:49
13. Hey Gyp – 03:50
14. Help Me Girl – 02:42
15. When I Was Young – 03:01
16. A Girl Named Sandoz – 03:07
17. San Franciscan Nights – 03:22
18. Montery – 04:21
19. Anything – 03:23
20. Sky Pilot – 07:32
21. White Houses – 03:55
22. Spill The Wine (Eric Burdon & War) – 04:03



If you encounter broken links or other problem about this publication, please let me know and write your comment below. I will reply and fix as soon as possible.