The Kinks – Low Budget (1976) [2003, MFSL Remastered, CD-Layer + Hi-Res SACD Rip]

The Kinks - Low Budget (1976) [2003, MFSL Remastered, CD-Layer + Hi-Res SACD Rip]

The Kinks – Low Budget (1976) [2003, MFSL Remastered, CD-Layer + Hi-Res SACD Rip]
EAC Rip | FLAC Image + Cue + Log
SACD Rip | ISO / DSD / 1bit / 2.8224MHz | FLAC Tracks / 24bit / 88.2kHz
Hybrid SACD | Full Scans Included
Total Size: 407 MB (CD-Layer) + 2.40 GB (SACD ISO) + 1.16 GB (SACD FLAC) | 3% RAR Recovery
Label: MFSL UltraDisc UHR | USA | Cat#: UDSACD 2008 | Genre: Classic Rock

Low Budget doesn’t have a narrative like Preservation or Soap Opera, but Ray Davies cleverly designed the album as a sly satire of the recession and oil crisis that gripped America in the late ’70s — thereby satisfying his need to be a wry social commentator while giving American audiences a hook to identify with. It was a clever move that worked; not only did Low Budget become their highest-charting American album (not counting the 1966 Greatest Hits compilation), but it was also a fine set of arena rock, one of the better mainstream hard rock albums of its time. And it certainly was of its time — so much so that many of the concerns and production techniques have dated quite a bit in the decades since its initial release. Nevertheless, that gives the album a certain charm, since it now plays like a time capsule, a snapshot of what hard rock sounded like at the close of the ’70s. Perhaps not so coincidentally, Davies’ songwriting fluctuates throughout the album, since it’s dictated as much by commercial as artistic concerns, but the moments when he manages to balance the two impulses — as on the disco-fueled “(Wish I Could Fly Like) Superman,” the vaudevillian “Low Budget,” “A Gallon of Gas,” the roaring “Attitude” (possibly their best hard rocker of the era, by the way), and “Catch Me Now I’m Falling,” where Davies takes on the persona of America itself — are irresistible. Low Budget may not have the depth of, say, Arthur or Village Green, but it’s a terrifically entertaining testament to their skills as a professional rock band and Davies’ savvy as a commercial songwriter. ― Allmusic

01. Attitude – 03:49
02. Catch Me Now I’m Falling – 05:59
03. Pressure – 02:27
04. National Health – 04:04
05. (Wish I Could Fly Like) Superman – 03:38
06. Low Budget – 03:49
07. In A Space – 03:46
08. Little Bit Of Emotion – 04:53
09. A Gallon Of Gas – 03:49
10. Misery – 02:58
11. Moving Pictures – 03:44
12. A Gallon Of Gas (U.S. Single Extended Version) – 03:51
13. Catch Me Now I’m Falling (Original Extended Version) – 06:49
14. (Wish I Could Fly Like) Superman (Disco Mix Extended Version) – 05:59





If you encounter broken links or other problem about this publication, please let me know and write your comment below. I will reply and fix as soon as possible.