INXS – Shine Like It Does: The Anthology 1979–1997 (2001)

INXS - Shine Like It Does: The Anthology 1979–1997 (2001)

INXS – Shine Like It Does: The Anthology 1979–1997 (2001)
EAC Rip | 2xCD | FLAC Image + Cue + Log | Full Scans Included
Total Size: 1.05 GB (CDs) + 624 MB (Scans)
Label: Atlantic / Rhino | US | Cat#: R2 74262 | Genre: Pop Rock

From the vantage of 2001, the year Rhino released the double-disc retrospective Shine Like It Does: The Anthology (1979-1997), it’s a little hard to believe that the Australian sextet really rivaled U2 for popularity in 1987/1988, when Kick worked its way to multi-platinum global success. At the time, they belonged next to the likes of U2 and R.E.M., two post-punk legends that worked their way into the mainstream because they were a quintessential college rock band of the ’80s, thrillingly balancing style with substance. This, of course, means that they can still sound tied to the times, but that’s leavened by their heritage as an Australian rock band — which means no matter how stylish they got, they could still rock really, really hard. Unfortunately, at the height of their popularity, they made records that camouflaged their raw talents with synthesized bass and drums, which is what rock bands did in the late ’80s. And, throughout their career, INXS did tend to favor the sounds of the time, whether it was the angular new wave of Shabooh Shoobah, the evocative Listen Like Thieves, the Stonesy funk of Kick, or the alt-rock explorations of Welcome to Wherever You Are. This can make Shine Like It Does sound a bit like a music travelogue of its time, especially because its 42 songs do have their fair share of songs that seem like filler, but what stands out when the collection is finished is how damn good INXS was when it all clicked. That could mean such new wave classics as “The One Thing,” “Don’t Change,” or “Original Sin,” the college rock staples of “Kiss the Dirt (Falling Down the Mountain)” and “Listen Like Thieves,” or such mainstream breakthroughs as “What You Need,” “Need You Tonight,” “Devil Inside,” “New Sensation,” “Never Tear Us Apart,” “Suicide Blonde,” and “Disappear.” And it didn’t stop there, either, because such latter-day songs as “Heaven Sent,” “Not Enough Time,” “Beautiful Gir,l” and “Elegantly Wasted” may not have been big hits, but they did hold their own against those hits. All these are here, along with some rarities, album tracks, and quasi-rarities, such as the Jimmy Barnes duet “Good Times” from The Lost Boys soundtrack and a number of remixes and single edits, giving this a reason to spread out over two discs. The problem is, even though there’s more hits than misses, this doesn’t quite justify its length for many listeners, even while it makes a convincing case that INXS has more than a disc worth of classics. There’s something off in the sequencing or selection, it’s hard to tell which, that keeps it from being a knockout. Still, there’s something to be said for this collection — it may not prove that INXS transcends their time like U2 or R.E.M., but it does prove that, at their best, they could turn out some of the best rock & roll of their time. ― Allmusic

CD 1
01. Simple Simon – 02:34
02. We Are The Vegetables – 01:53
03. Just Keep Walking – 02:44
04. The Loved One – 03:16
05. Stay Young – 03:27
06. The One Thing – 03:25
07. Don’t Change – 04:28
08. To Look At You (Single Edit) – 03:43
09. Here Comes II – 03:52
10. Black And White (Extended Version) – 04:57
11. Original Sin – 05:22
12. I Send A Message – 03:25
13. Burn For You (Single Remix) – 03:40
14. Dancing On The Jetty – 04:35
15. This Time – 03:09
16. What You Need – 03:36
17. Kiss The Dirt (Falling Down The Mountain) – 03:56
18. Listen Like Thieves – 03:47
19. Shine Like It Does – 03:08
20. Different World (7′ Mix) – 04:19
21. Good Times – 03:53

CD 2
01. Need You Tonight (Single Edit) – 03:04
02. Devil Inside (Australian Single Edit) – 03:57
03. New Sensation – 03:40
04. Never Tear Us Apart – 03:05
05. Mystify – 03:17
06. Kick – 03:15
07. Suicide Blonde (7′ Mix) – 03:52
08. Disappear – 04:09
09. Bitter Tears – 03:53
10. The Stairs (Live) – 05:04
11. Heaven Sent – 03:21
12. Not Enough Time (Barcelona LP Fade) – 04:20
13. Taste It – 03:25
14. Beautiful Girl (Mendelsohn Mix) – 03:11
15. The Gift – 04:05
16. Please (You Got That…) (With Ray Charles) – 03:03
17. The Strangest Party (These Are The Times) – 03:55
18. Elegantly Wasted (Radio Edit) – 03:54
19. Let It Ride – 03:44
20. Don’t Lose Your Head – 04:03
21. Searching (Leadstation Radio Edit) – 04:19




If you encounter broken links or other problem about this publication, please let me know and write your comment below. I will reply and fix as soon as possible.