The Band – The Band (1969) {2009, Audio Fidelity, HDCD Remastered}

The Band - The Band (1969) {2009, Audio Fidelity, HDCD Remastered}

The Band – The Band (1969) {2009, Audio Fidelity, HDCD Remastered}
EAC Rip | WavPack (.wv) Image + Cue + Log | Full Scans Included
Total Size: 275 MB | 3% RAR Recovery
Label: Audio Fidelity | USA | Cat#: AFZ 032 | Genre: Southern Rock, Country Rock

The Band’s first album, Music from Big Pink, seemed to come out of nowhere, with its ramshackle musical blend and songs of rural tragedy. The Band, the group’s second album, was a more deliberate and even more accomplished effort, partially because the players had become a more cohesive unit, and partially because guitarist Robbie Robertson had taken over the songwriting, writing or co-writing all 12 songs. Though a Canadian, Robertson focused on a series of American archetypes from the union worker in “King Harvest (Has Surely Come)” and the retired sailor in “Rockin’ Chair” to, most famously, the Confederate Civil War observer Virgil Cane in “The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down.” The album effectively mixed the kind of mournful songs that had dominated Music from Big Pink, here including “Whispering Pines” and “When You Awake” (both co-written by Richard Manuel), with rollicking uptempo numbers like “Rag Mama Rag” and “Up on Cripple Creek” (both sung by Levon Helm and released as singles, with “Up on Cripple Creek” making the Top 40). As had been true of the first album, it was the Band’s sound that stood out the most, from Helm’s (and occasionally Manuel’s) propulsive drumming to Robertson’s distinctive guitar fills and the endlessly inventive keyboard textures of Garth Hudson, all topped by the rough, expressive singing of Manuel, Helm, and Rick Danko that mixed leads with harmonies. The arrangements were simultaneously loose and assured, giving the songs a timeless appeal, while the lyrics continued to paint portraits of 19th century rural life (especially Southern life, as references to Tennessee and Virginia made clear), its sometimes less savory aspects treated with warmth and humor. ― Allmusic

Additional Info:
• Original Released Date: September 22, 1969
• Released Date: 2009, Audio Fidelity
More info

01. Across The Great Divede – 02:53
02. Rag Mama Rag – 03:04
03. The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down – 03:33
04. When You Wake Up – 03:13
05. Up On Cripple Creek – 04:33
06. Whispering Pines – 04:06
07. Jemima Surrender – 03:31
08. Rockin’ Chair – 03:42
09. Look Out Cleveland – 03:09
10. Jawbone – 04:20
11. The Unfaithful Servant – 04:16
12. King Harvest (Has Surely Come) – 03:46
13. Get Up Jake (Bonus Track) – 02:16

[su_spoiler title=”EAC Log” icon=”plus-square-1″ style=”fancy”]
Click Here[/su_spoiler]
[su_spoiler title=”CUETools 2.1.5″ icon=”plus-square-1″ style=”fancy”]
Click Here[/su_spoiler]
[su_spoiler title=”Back & Label Preview” icon=”plus-square-1″ style=”fancy”]


If you encounter broken links or other problem about this publication, please let me know
and write your comment below. I will reply and fix as soon as possible.