Todd Rundgren – A Wizard, A True Star (1973) {2018, Remastered, Hi-Res SACD Rip}

Todd Rundgren - A Wizard, A True Star (1973) {2018, Remastered, Hi-Res SACD Rip}

Todd Rundgren – A Wizard, A True Star (1973) {2018, Remastered, Hi-Res SACD Rip}
SACD Rip | ISO / DSD / 1bit / 2.8224MHz | FLAC Tracks / 24bit / 88.2kHz
Hybrid SACD | Full Scans Included
Total Size: 2.26 GB (ISO) + 1.09 GB (FLAC) | 3% RAR Recovery
Label: Analog Spark | Austria | Cat#: AS00045 | Genre: Progressive Rock

Something/Anything? proved that Todd Rundgren could write a pop classic as gracefully as any of his peers, but buried beneath the surface were signs that he would never be satisfied as merely a pop singer/songwriter. A close listen to the album reveals the eccentricities and restless spirit that surges to the forefront on its follow-up, A Wizard, A True Star. Anyone expecting the third record of Something/Anything?, filled with variations on “I Saw the Light” and “Hello It’s Me,” will be shocked by A Wizard. As much a mind-f*ck as an album, A Wizard, A True Star rarely breaks down to full-fledged songs, especially on the first side, where songs and melodies float in and out of a hazy post-psychedelic mist. Stylistically, there may not be much new — he touched on so many different bases on Something/Anything? that it’s hard to expand to new territory — but it’s all synthesized and assembled in fresh, strange ways. Often, it’s a jarring, disturbing listen, especially since Rundgren’s humor has turned bizarre and insular. It truly takes a concerted effort on the part of the listener to unravel the record, since Rundgren makes no concessions — not only does the soul medley jerk in unpredictable ways, but the anthemic closer, “Just One Victory,” is layered with so many overdubs that it’s hard to hear its moving melody unless you pay attention. And that’s the key to understanding A Wizard, A True Star — it’s one of those rare rock albums that demands full attention and, depending on your own vantage, it may even reward such close listening. ― Allmusic

Additional Info:
• Original Released Date: March 2, 1973
• SACD Released Date: 2018
More info

01. International Feel – 02:51
02. Never Never Land – 01:35
03. Tic Tic Tic It Wears Off – 01:14
04. You Need Your Head – 01:02
05. Rock And Roll Pussy – 01:09
06. Dogfight Giggle – 01:05
07. You Don’t Have To Camp Around – 01:03
08. Flamingo – 02:35
09. Zen Archer – 05:36
10. Just Another Onionhead / Da da Dali – 02:24
11. When The Shit Hits The Fan / Sunset Blvd. – 04:03
12. Le Feel Internacionale – 01:52
13. Sometimes I Don’t Know What To Feel – 04:17
14. Does Anybody Love You? – 01:31
15. Medley – 10:35
16. Hungry For Love – 02:19
17. I Don’t Want To Tie You Down – 01:57
18. Is It My Name? – 04:02
19. Just One Victory – 05:03

[su_spoiler title=”DR Report” icon=”plus-square-1″ style=”fancy”]
[su_spoiler title=”Back & Label Preview” icon=”plus-square-1″ style=”fancy”]

image host image host


If you encounter broken links or other problem about this publication, please let me know
and write your comment below. I will reply and fix as soon as possible.